We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abba Fonseca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abba Fonseca Hotel to your Saves list
Abba Fonseca Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza San Blas 2, 37007 Salamanca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clermont,Florida (West of Orlando)
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed the first two nights of a month long stay in Spain at the Abba Fonseca. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The front desk staff helped me with everything, from setting up my cell phone to navigating through the city.
The room was large, clean and comfortable.
I didn't eat at the main dining room but did order a sandwich and a couple of coffees. The restaurant staff were very kind and helpful.
The hotel is in a great location, convenient to the Plaza Mayor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    150
    37
    2
    5
See reviews for
47
157
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the impressive Plaza Mayor and has secure garage parking (at extra cost and bays are rather small). Comfortable, large well appointed room and lovely bathroom in spotless condition. Friendly reception staff, but English not widely spoken, especially in bar and restaurant. No English translations on menus, so have phrase book handy if knowledge of Spanish cuisine limited. Dinner choices rather limited. Excellent buffet breakfasts. Salamanca is a beautiful, pristine historic city with some stunning architecture and easily explored on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of city rather than inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I enjoyed my staying at this hotel. The room was very big and had fantastic views of the Cathedral and the Clerecía. The bathroom was also very large and had very good lightning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a large upstairs room with a beautiful view of the cathedral(s); great location, short cab ride from the train station. Beautiful bathroom and nice toiletries. We loved our time here and appreciated the use of the computer in the lobby, as well as free wi-fi when using our laptop in the lounge area. Breakfast was good - fresh pastries, fruit, etc., though cereal choices were all sweet; variety of yogurts and juices was nice; staff was all helpful and service oriented. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I am happy to say that I have found a hotel that reminds me of what I miss from the US: Its spacious rooms and king-size beds in a room for for ONE person. This hotel is clean, spacious, and comfortable. It also has the amenities everyone likes--pool, gym, two sinks, and nice soaps, shampoos, WiFi, concierge services. I haven't yet tried the restaurant, but I did have room service. Both the voice over the phone and the staff at the front desk are professional and polite. I cannot, however, give the hotel the best rating; it has some areas that need improvement. First, the beds are not up to par. In almost every other way it meets my standards of comfort for hotels in the US. The mattresses need to be either updated or they need to invest in better brands. But, I haven't lost sleep in spite of the fact that the mattress is too thin and flimsy, or that the pillows are about the thinnest I've ever seen! What bothers me most is the fact that I have to pay for access to WiFi. I never choose to stay in hotels that don't provide its guest w/free access to WiFi, but this is a business trip and the organization booked the room or I'd be staying somewhere else. They charge 10,50€ per day for access to WiFi or you can pay by the hour. There is free Internet in the lobby for 10 minutes at a time ¡Qué barbaridad! For some, paying for access to the Internet may seem reasonable, but I feel that paying 2,95€ for a 50cl bottle of Fanta more than makes up for whatever loss they might experience for providing free WiFi in the rooms.

If you just want a clean room in a nice hotel close to everything in Salamanca, this is the place, but free WiFi should be an amenity that's included in the price of the room, and I am willing to try their competition that may lack the pool just to be able to use Skype to call the US when I travel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The reception staff are really helpful and very friendly.

The rooms are large and modern, I booked a room with a view of Salamanca and we could
see the historical buildings from our room, very nice. The bathroom was very clean and the toiletries were good.

Breakfast was included and the freshly made fritattas were superb.

The prices in tne bar were very reasonable.

The walk into the historical area was about 5 minutes very short and Salamanca is really impressive.

The local people are very friendly, a really nice place to visit.

Room Tip: This hotel is extremely good value the room with a view is a corner room with double views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Excellent location for seeing Salamanca -easy walking to all the of the sights – just outside of the historic center. The hotel has large, modern rooms with many amenities and is in a beautiful old rennovated building. The immediate area is pretty, especially when lit up at night. Coming from the Madrid airport, we felt it would be easier to find than going into the historic area.

The hotel wasn’t as easy to find as we expected since the entrance is located on a small plaza not accessible by car. We parked nearby and looked for it on foot. We avoided the high cost of breakfast and ate in a nearby café. We would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abba Fonseca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Fonseca Hotel

Address: Plaza San Blas 2, 37007 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#9 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Fonseca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of this city, Abba Fonseca is a contemporary-style hotel with an old stone façade, providing spacious and cheerful bedrooms. Providing views of the magnificent cathedral in Salamanca, this is the perfect hotel from which to admire this historical city. With an on-site gym, in Abba Fonseca you can get active in this hotel. After some exercise you can unwind in the small spa facility, with sauna and hot tub. Return to the hotel in the evening for a light snack or a 3-course meal with friends or colleagues. Then head to the bar, terrace or café for a drink and a chat. Parking is available on site for an additional cost. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abba Fonseca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Fonseca Salamanca
Hotel Abba Fonseca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abba Fonseca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.