We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Hidalgo Restaurante - CLOSED

El Hidalgo Restaurante
Plaza del Corrillo 20, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
+34 923 211 323
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Spanish, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Paris, France
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Remarkable meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is incredible that these people should not understand that they need to completely renovate the exterior. We were the only two diners that night all evening to enjoy that fantastic dinner (food and wine) in the beautiful decor, served by an attentive staff. What a waste of talents ! All this is due to the entrance on the street that looks like a mere bistrot !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not what it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Been mentioned before, but exterior not a feature. Next door much more what you'd expect. We didn't have many tapas but the special little strips of local beef were tough. Served with potato chips (crisps) not what you'd expect either. Pile of beef stew better but also with chips/crisps.

But they did have sherry! Hurrah. However before you get too excited, we finished what must have been the last bottle in Salamanca.

Quite pricey but the rare sherry (go figure) didn't help. Service pleasant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

One of the best meals we had in Spain although we hesitated before going in as the outside looks like it is a tourist trap. Maybe the cafe part is but we were the only non-Spaniards in the dining room. Excellent fresh food but not inexpensive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Went here twice for the tapas elaborado. Both times they were excellent! Really different from your standard tapas fare. They also have excellent wine. A little pricy (not for the tight budget) but worth the extra cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was a very disappointing experience particularly because a tapa we had shared in the bar the previous day was excellent. Althouigh advised not to eat before 10.00 p.m., the restaurant was very quiet and lacked atmosphere. There was one friendly waiter - the maitre d' was stand-offish and unfriendly - we have very good Spanish and travel in Spain a lot so have an objective view. As for the food - the almejas (clams) were tough,tasteless and came with a very floury sauce which was not good. Magret de oca (goose breast) was also tough and tasteless; a steak was good but not in any way special. Dessert - a shared pannacotta - was again tasteless and very stiff in texture. All in all we cannot recommend El Hidalgo.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Hidalgo Restaurante also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hidalgo Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.