We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Don Gregorio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pablo 80-82, 37008 Salamanca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have rarely met such positive staff. Not in your face but very accomodating. This is a little gem of a hotel and if you enjoy breakfast, well this is difficult to beat. Spent two nights in this hotel and I will come back. Better if the "modern anglo saxon back-ground music" was replaced but that aside, a great experience. The recommended restaurant in the town (el Meson de Gonzalo) to be avoided.

Room Tip: I was very happy with mine so I can not advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    32
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
134
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for a couple of nights in June. The hotel is in a nice position but for me was totally let down by the very rude man that checked us in. He made me feel unwelcome and was really unfriendly and unhelpful. We asked for restaurant suggestions and he just pointed to a tourist map with tourist restaurants and told us to go in that direction or have room service! Not the sort of greeting you want after 10 hours of travel. Luckily we didn't see him again after that day and the rest of the staff were very nice. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was rather a strange affair in the basement and was a little soulless.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the beginning of June and had the most amazing experience. All staff members from cleaning to management were so helpful, friendly, professional that make felt us as at home. I strong recommend it if you want to either visit the city, have a lunch/dinner or celebrate your wedding (it is just an amazing venue).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aventura, florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed overnight in Salamanca at the Grand Hotel Don Gregorio on our trip from Madrid to Porto, Portugal, and it was a wise decision. Salamanca is beautiful, and a beautiful change from Madrid.

This wonderful Hotel is a former Mansion converted into a 15 room Boutique Hotel. It is a special place to stay. The Staff are extremely friendly and professional. The rooms are quiet and luxurious, with wood floors, stone walls, and comfortable beds and baths. The Spa, that's another superior amenity.... It is large, and private, with a jacuzzi style pool, heated tile loungers, four showers, a large flat screen television projecting marine scenes, a reflective ceiling, and a calm buddhist tranquility once entered. It is intended to be utilized privately, and only by one or two couples at a time. It is wonderful.

The breakfast area, in keeping with the Hotel's character is quiet and plush, the food is excellent.

If you are planning on driving from Madrid over to Portugal via Salamanca, spend a night or more at this wonderful Hotel. Have a meal at Meson de Gonzalo, and walk back to your beautiful room at Grand Hotel Don Gregorio. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very elegant and discreet property in the heart of Salamancas historic centre.
Easy access by car, parking on the spot.
Carlos at reception was very welcoming and professional.
My room was large and well equipped overlooking the square in front of the hotel with view on a beautiful church.
Contemporary/rustic style decoration.
Incredible buffet breakfast with large and top quality choice for a small property.
Comfortable lounge bar.
Definitely theeee place to stay in Salamanca

Room Tip: # 1.2 overlooking the squarein front of hotel. great shower stall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfortville, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is about twice more expensive than other hotels of the same category in town. So we came here expecting the very best for our money, considering other customers opinions on tripadvisor. We got a superior room (30+ square meters). Very nice design, comfortable king bed, high quality equipment (Böse, Loewe), bath, shower all great. Nice view. Sound proof (silent although overlooking the street). Very good central location. Really high speed (12Mb/s+) internet free of charge.
Correct service, luggage, valet parking.
But... Quite unfriendly welcome at check in (much better next day with other staff). No help for dining out (go to Plaza Mayor, it's full of tapas bars, receptionist said). No in-room coffee machine, not even instant coffee. Correct breakfast, nothing exceptional (well, with 17 rooms they cannot have a huge buffet).
Overall remains a good experience, but we didn't feel it was worth 250€/Night in Salamanca.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas it was impeccable. The staff were extremely efficient and courteous, the spa was pure heaven and the beds were so comfortable we found them hard to leave, I still dream of those large fluffy pillows. No worries for us on the breakfast front we had the perfect breakfast delivered to our room every morning, more time to stay in bed! Don't miss the Michelin star restaurant two doors down they have very few tables so book in advance! Loved Salamanca and this hotel I do hope to go back one day!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abba Fonseca Hotel
Abba Fonseca Hotel
#13 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Don Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Address: San Pablo 80-82, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Don Gregorio 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Don Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Don Gregorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.