We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Vega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Vega to your Saves list
Room Mate Vega
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Del Mercado 16, 37001 Salamanca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel is extremely well located for easy walks to many sites of great interest. Being the third Roommate hotel in which we have stayed, we are naturally partial to this group. Of the three we know, Vega was the least impressive overall but it is a very good hotel charging a very reasonable rate. The rooms, as in all the Roommate hotels, are spotlessly clean, commodious and well-appointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    201
    83
    26
    10
See reviews for
70
277
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We arrived in Salamanca by car. Compared to other cities we had driven to during our trip, Salamanca was a dream to drive in. Had it not been for roadworks around the hotel, we would have found the hotel and the parking garage without any problem. The parking slots in the parking garage are cramped, but we were able to park our Skoda Octavia station wagon without too much difficulty. Be sure to locate the light switch closest to you, or you'll be fumbling about in the dark as the automatic lights off is a bit too agressive.
The hotel is placed right next to Plaza Major and the market and is therefore very easy to locate when you're out walking.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was not large, but had ample room for us to open our suitcases without them getting in the way, the room therefore felt roomy and comfortable. The beds were good and the hotel was quitet. With a window open we could hear the buzz from Plaza Major, but not loud enough to disturb our sleep.
The hotel has a good breakfast buffet at a resonable price, the only thing we didn't like at the buffet was the music.
In total I guess you'd be hard pressed to find a hotel with better value for your money in Salamanca. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

the location is hard to beat, literally two minutes from the plaza mayor, and everything that matters in salamanca.

you get free internet (wifi at the lobby, ethernet cable required for room access), a garage that's right on the building, you can go from your car to your floor, no need to walk around town carrying heavy luggage.

another nice touch is breakfast served until noon. no worries if you sleep late, you can get a decent first meal till a bit later.

the staff is really nice and cool, but i wonder how that can cope with the music playing in the lobby all day long.

the rooms are pretty simple, with a modern design and in-room safe and tv.
they're not too big (at least the one i got), but fair enough.

with the huge discount for online booking, we got a very comfortable room for a very low price, i would find it very hard to find to beat for value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Booked this hotel as other choices were full.I found it very difficult to find as it's in the centre of town with very narrow streets and as I was only stopping overnight on my way to Bilbao it wasn't a good choice.I used the hotel underground car park and although tight I had no problems getting in and out (I have a Mazda B2500 pickup).I wasn't impressed with the food on offer for the evening so I ate round the corner at one of the many restaurents close by.Breakfast was OK but I found the selection of food lacking but plentiful and good. The single room was rather on the small side but was reasonably comfortable and very clean.The staff were quit friendly and helpfull.Please Note that whilst this hotel was not entirely suitable for me it is perfect for a central city break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed here for one night during a round trip in Central Spain. Double Room was small but clean. No parking space for vistors: You have to pay for the hotel garage or try to find a public garage (as we did). Location was really good: A few steps away from the plaza mayor and from all point of interests in the old town with the famous university. Try to catch a special rate with booking in advance – on site it is much more expensive. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

It's like an apartment building that sells you an apartment based on the lobby. Happens all the time. But one must keep in mind, this is only a 3 star hotel so I think it is very nice for that. The room I had was miniscule. But the bathroom is nice and clean and the breakfast was VERY reasonable and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I was in a single room with a comfortable single bed. The room was small but not excessively so. Given this was billed as a boutique hotel, I was expecting more appealing decor: I found the muted colors drab for my taste. The clean bathroom had a slightly unpleasant smell. With the window closed Icould just hear young people shouting in the street in the late night hours, but the noise got covered over when I turned on the air circulation. I found the thermostat a bit tricky to operate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Vega

Address: Plaza Del Mercado 16, 37001 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#8 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Room Mate Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Vega Salamanca
Room Mate Vega Hotel Salamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Vega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.