We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for Grumpy, grumpy, grumpy!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Gaspar

La Posada de Gaspar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada de Gaspar
Save
You added La Posada de Gaspar to your Saves list
Calle Real 27-29 | Rabanal del Camino, 24722 Leon, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Leon B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be prepared for Grumpy, grumpy, grumpy!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

After a good day on the Camino, nothing like checking into a hotel where the desk clerk is downright grumpy. The room itself was very noisy as you could hear load voices and dishes clattering coming from the bar. Next morning the grumpy man was working behind the bar, coughing openly and blowing his nose while he half-heartedly took care of his patrons. He acted like he was put out because we ordered a coffee!! Maybe he's in the wrong profession!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

At the end of the Main Street this stone building immediately looks the part.

Early checkin was ok (thanks) and appreciated after a day on the Camino.

The room (201) is probably the biggest I have had. The bathroom is well equipped although it takes a little while for hot water to find its way through those old stone walls.

Noise travels from the downstairs bar so an afternoon nap could be a problem.

Wifi was ok, but slow.

Dinner was good (11 euro) and the dining room is full of charm. Breakfast starts at 7:30 but I was on the road by then.

Chatting with friends on the Camino I believe this is the best place in town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The old man who (I think) owns this hotel is very grumpy. He cannot crack a smile no matter how pleasant you are to him.

However, his (children ?) are the opposite. Very pleasant.

The room are quite nice. the building is old, authentic, and quite charming - especially with the courtyard area. The meal was good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located at the end of the village the views are nice from the clean rooms. Staff is polite, everything was pretty normal, the outside terrazzo was closed and full of leaves at the end of the season but it was a cooler day so it wasn't a problem. The restaurant was fine and no problems of any types.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The above rooms were on the 3rd. floor with no lift and were low ceiling attic where you could not walk around the beds without bending over double. My room which was 304, there was had no wardrobe and the commode which was on the lowest side of the room, I could not access it without being on all fours. There was only a skylight which for me was difficult to open being only 5ft and 75. No one help with luggage to these rooms which one could only access by climbing a steep staircase with no hand rail. My friends had room 302 which had the same difficulties. The price of these rooms were the same as the ones on the lower floors and as we complained we were told if not happy we could leave the hotel at once. The hotel was holding our visa card no. and could have charged us if we did.

Room Tip: When booking please state you do not wish to have these attic rooms on the 3rd. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a joy to stay there after feet dropping off clean rooms great food what more can a pilgrim hope for chill out in bar , after people have seen the film the way with Martin sheen , the camino draws you there to walk in the way of st James , great posada well done macs tours for booking me in there Gary jersey Channel Islands jerseys only official knight Templar buen camino

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Part of the Camino experience is the food. Most of the trip in Spain has been a disappointment related to food. I went into this restaurant already deciding to have the safe option of garlic soup and ensalada. The smell from the kitchen and the menu changed my mind. A fantastic fish soup, followed by chicken stew. Yes, stew, finally someone cooking with their heart and an understanding that the simplest meal should be flavoursome. Well done La Posada de Gaspar. Rooms lovely and clean.

Room Tip: I'm guessing the need to lug the suitcase up to third floor is price for retaining building era...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Gaspar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Gaspar

Address: Calle Real 27-29 | Rabanal del Camino, 24722 Leon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Gaspar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.