We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - 10 minutes to the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Luis de Leon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Luis de Leon to your Saves list
Silken Luis de Leon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fray Luis de Leon 26, 24005 Leon, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Leon
St Valerien
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel - 10 minutes to the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great hotel - very reasonably priced for a 4 star - within 10 minutes walk of the centre of Leon. We did have a bit of trouble finding it and the garage is not on the same road. the hotel is surrounded by a one way system. A good landmark is 'El Cortes Ingles' - a large department store - which is opposite the hotel.
In some of the other reviews there is mention of the car park be 'tight' to get into. we have a 4x4 and had no real problem and the car parking spaces are bigger than hotel norm.
A little tip - in the evening take a 'bar crawl'. Every time you buy a drink you get a free tapas. We visited several bars and eat a variety of very tasty dishes.
If we visit Leon again we would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were asked on arrival about what time of room we wanted and ended up with a great room at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    96
    75
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
100
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel is located in a very good place and is next to El Corte Inglés Department Store. Breakfast was pretty expensive and the Hotel Parking position was a hell to find. The room was clean and cleaning ladies very eager to clean as well.
If you do not expect something more than a place to sleep at night then go for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good location for both center and train/bus station. Taxi ride to airport about 20 Euro with tip. Some decent restaurants and bars nearby that were not flooded with tourists.

Rooms were clean and staff was friendly and spoke English well.

Complaints:
Wifi would not allow any downloading of e-mails via wireless (ipad/iphone). No problems anywhere else - they used "Kubi" network which requires a 24 hour activation password. Hotel provides but only gets to internet. I think this second layer of security caused some sort of problem with e-mail. Staff in denial on this point. Laptop plugged into network via cable provided worked fine but my wife who had been working the entire trip from her iPad had to go elsewhere to do e-mail.

Corner room NOISY if window open. If Window closed, HOT! A/C seemed to have been disabled.

If you are in Leon on Sunday, EVERYTHING except cafes and a few tourist shops on street to Cathedral is shut down.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The hotel is located some 10 minutes from the old town, 15 to the cathedral. We had a room with the view to the street intersection but actually was quite. Corte Ingles is in front of the hotel as a park. Tha staff was helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Located on the edge of the old town, about 10mins walk from the cathedral. The location is a pleasant enough area, across the road from a principal Spanish department store.
The room we had was larger than average, well fitted out and modern. Free wifi available with a reasonable connection rate.
Breakfasts were buffet type, with a wide selection of foods, including fresh fruits. These were better than average.
Downsides...lifts seemed busy after breakfast, requiring waiting. Not unusual in busy hotels.
The underground car park, had a rather narrow, winding entry and exit ramp. Many vehicles had come to grief along its edges and corners. I have never seen so many paint marks. Car drivers beware!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I'd recommend this hotel based on its location, about 5 minutes or so from the old town, right opposite El Corte Inglés and not far from the river. The hotel doesn't have much character but it's clean, good value and the rooms are well equipped. León is a pleasant city to explore and the hotel does the job nicely as a base.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I have been to this hotel for just one night with my family. I think it is a very good solution if you are going there to visit Leon. Indeed, despite being located in a residencial area you are just 5 to 7 minutes away from plaza mayor and the cathedral. Personnel is extremely kind, and useful. We checked in in two seconds, they were always available when asked some info, and always kind. Knowing we have a baby they gave to us a room which was larger than the standard one. Rooms are clean, furniture is not so new but maintenance of the hotel is perfect. Minibar is very rich (champagne, cava, and all sort of beverages you might want). We did not try the restaurant or the room service, but the prices are quite resonable if you consider you are in a 4* hotel. Also if you are arriing to Leon by car this hotel is a much better solution than others which are located into the pedestrian area (and the hotel charges you just 9 euros for the parking....much less than it is usual in Spain)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Luis de Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Luis de Leon

Address: Fray Luis de Leon 26, 24005 Leon, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Luis de Leon 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silken Luis de Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Luis de Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.