We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yacimientos de la Sierra de Atapuerca

Yacimientos de la Sierra de Atapuerca
Burgos, Spain
947-421-000-902
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Madrid
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“very fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Even if the archeological findings and their meaning are perfectly clear from the explanations in the museum in Burgos, it´s wonderful to see with one´s own eyes where the archeologists worked (and are still working). The guide on the tour is very knowledgeable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    43
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Informative visit ... when you are Spanish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My visit to the caves were very informative, however Spanish is a must. Besides that the caves were covered in steel constructions, taking away the magical moment. It definately is a jewel for pre-historic fans. The museum if definately interesting in both languages. There are free Spanish explanations for thos interested.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit at least to say you have been there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Let's face it, there isn't a ton to do in Burgos, so this is one of the star attractions. For less than 10 Euros (with student id), I was able to get an admission ticket to the Museum of Human Evolution, a bus ride to Atapuerca, and a tour of Atapuerca. I signed up a day prior, which is a good idea since the ride to Atapuerca only happens once a day and the bus seats like 15 people. The tour is completely in Spanish, but there were some signs at the site explaining things in English.To be honest, there isn't much to see there. At best, you get the experience of seeing what an active acheological dig looks like. However, there is beautiful natural scenery and you get a great view of the valley. One highlight is that they show you actual remains of prehistoric animals, which you get to hold, and they have replicas of skulls which you can also hold. The trip left at 11am and took 3 hours.
All in all, the low price makes this trip worth it. If it cost like $50 Euros, I would say no, but for the current price, why not?

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Know our origins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

A good place to know about the firsts human beens in Europe

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantabria
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We'd waited a long time to go to Atapuerca, and to be honest, we were a bit disappointed with the visit. You have to book a tour before you go at the offices in a village nearby, you can't go of your own accord. You're given a time and you're taken by bus to the caves, where you meet the guide and are given helmets etc. Luckily it was a sunny day when we went, I can't imagine it is much fun in the rain. The visit consists in a walk along and around the trench they have dug, but as they are still working on the site there isn't really much to see except for red earth and scaffolding. There is a part where you are taken into a cave and shown a video with lights etc., but really, for such a world class site, it is fairly basic stuff and just listening to explanations, most of which you could have got for free at the vistors centre.

Visited April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yacimientos de la Sierra de Atapuerca also viewed

Burgos, Province of Burgos
 
Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 

Been to Yacimientos de la Sierra de Atapuerca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yacimientos de la Sierra de Atapuerca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.