We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Burgos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Palacio de Burgos to your Saves list
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Merced, 13, 09002 Burgos, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio de la Merced)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Burgos
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice for the price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a bit of a treat for our last night in Spain, having ridden through France and The Pyrenees on a bike. It was a hoot roaring up on the Triumph to such a grand looking hotel - a style of hotel I'm not really that used to! Anyway, Palacio de la Merced is fascinating if only for the fact that it occupies a 16th century building with a cloister. It has an air of superiority and is quite formal and corporate (and a bit stuffy), but that said, we had a good 'room only' deal and the bed was enormous as was the bathroom. The hotel is well placed for the cathedral, plaza, parks and many restaurants and cafes - we loved the location. Initially, we said no to breakfast at 15 euros each (ouch)... but then changed our minds as we were on holiday! Well, I've never seen such choice - you could eat yourself to a standstill...

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, so it was quiet but there was no view, however we got some quality sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    211
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
111
294
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore,MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I drove to Burgos from Madrid tired from our flight from the US. Wanting a big room with a big bed and full size shower, this was it. If you are driving, they have a garage that is right attached to the hotel. This makes carrying your luggage very easy.

We booked a junior suite which was actually two rooms plus is big bathroom. The first room had a couch and TV with a nice view of Burgos. The bedroom had a king bed and desk. Bathroom was great with separate area with sink. More than enough room for two. I would say a family of 4 would have enjoyed it.

The location is very good and an easy walk to the attractions and bars/tapas/ restaurants. We did not eat the breakfast as all of the bars offer a cortado and pastry for less than 2EU. I thought their breakfast was over priced.

This is a great place to stay. They also had free wifi!

Room Tip: Junior Suite for big room with King Bed and Shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been in this hotel a few times. The last time we spent a night in this hotel, the room was large and confortable but it wasn't so clean as it used to be.
Staff was very nice.The hotel is a beautiful buliding just across the cathedral. It is a perfect location for visiting Burgos. Parking is possible but expensive (€18.25 per day).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The building is amazing, and when you think that it´s just in the city center you won´t believe it. And then, when you get up and go to breakfast, we were really surprise of all the variety they had.

Just be careful, when choosing a place to park your car, it´s the city center and if you donñt choose to use their parking you can find free parking lots at 5 minutes near the Empecinado Park or Calle Carmen.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of their suites, and that was wonderfull, with a nice view to the river and the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent three nights in the hotel. Its location is grand, and the hotel itself is attractive and clean. But the best part is the staff -- all of them!! They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. One night, just starting dinner, the maitre 'd asked us if we'd like to go to the wine tasting which was just starting in another part of the hotel. He whisked us away, we spent 30 minutes tasting some new local wines by a vendor (for no cost) and then we returned to our dinner table. A delightful experience. You will feel comfortable here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The is an elegant Parador, with an inner cloister. The rooms were surprisingly large, well furnished and the service outstanding. We arrived after a 17 mile hike, and it felt like we had entered the gates of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-gasteiz, España
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived early but they tried to find the best room for us: double bed and quiet (they informed us that there would be a dinner party at the cloister that evening). Well, the room was lovely, the best I've had in any NH (and I know quite a few). It had a slanted ceiling with a big window that looked to the Cathedral and it was cosy and warm. Really great time, we're looking forward to visiting again!
The room number was 402. Try your luck and ask for it!

Room Tip: A high room will help if it looks to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Burgos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Burgos

Address: Calle de la Merced, 13, 09002 Burgos, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio de la Merced)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
#1 Business Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Palacio de Burgos 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Palacio de Burgos hotel in Burgos is located right in the city center, perfect for getting to know one of Spain's most interesting and cultural cities and the surrounding Castilian region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Burgos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De La Merced Hotel Burgos
Nh Hotels Burgos
Nh Hotel Burgos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Palacio de Burgos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.