We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Burgos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Palacio de Burgos to your Saves list
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Merced, 13, 09002 Burgos, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio de la Merced)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Burgos
Cognac, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great, comfortable hotel with excellent staff and beautiful rooms, breakfast and snack bar very good. The underground car park is a little tight but on the whole I would reccommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel and the staff in the bar and restaurant were great, especially Jose in the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    209
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
110
294
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here one night on 10th September - didn't book. Lovely Hotel, rooms nicely furnished, staff helpful, and I didn't expect them to speak English. The square is literally 5 minute's walk over a river. Lots of history here, unfortunately didn't stay long enough to find out about it as we were en route to Almeria. Would definitely come back again. It's nicer having breakfast in the square cafe's than the hotel which is what we normally do if breakfast isn't included in the stay. We paid 85 euros with a room overlooking the river but I looked on their website and there are cheaper rooms.

The hotel is easy to find south of the river but it is attached to an old church which makes it unusual. Arrive in siesta time between 1330 and 1700 then you won't have to battle with traffic.

Room Tip: If you book in advance make sure you have a room with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niembro, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is our second time at Nh Burgos, Spain. Last year in September we were here and there were air conditioning issues in room. After several insistent calls we were moved to another room. At the time we were told it was an issue with the entire wing and it was not something that was normal. Flash forward to 2012, we have checked in for one night on way to Madrid. Suddenly AC again not working and when we called reception we were told that the maintenance staff was not available and nothing that could be done.

It is a shame as the hotel is beautiful (a real old palace) in a great location for walking along the river in the shaded promenade. Bathrooms are roomy and clean as are the rooms. They have to correct the AC issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this hotel because we read it's part of the old cloister and the style was supposed to be classic. Indeed, the location is great. just opposite to the city gate of the old town. But we were very disappointed by the room. The hotel is very old and badly kept. The facilities are out dated. The wooden furniture and floor are full of scratches. The air-co didn't work probably. The air flow is very weak and it makes a lot of noise. Still, it's difficult to cool the room down in a sunny day. The interior of the room gives people sort of depressed feeling. So, the only good thing about this hotel is the fact that it was a former cloister. That's it! Once you checked in. Everything was just like a normal hotel. We felt kindly deceived by the description of the hotel. Definitely no 4 star standard.

PS: There are plenty of hotels in the neighborhood. We checked out the next morning and moved to the AC hotel on the other side of the river. It was much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Better than the already very high standard NH quality. Perfect location, historical building, great service, large rooms and delicious breakfast (again as always). If I have to give one negative point (or better "less positive") it would be that the restaurant of the hotel is also of a high classification with corresponding prices. Nice for romantic dinner for two, but less suitable for a family wit two young kids. The alternative is to take some snack (hamburger) at the bar. Good food, but no tables to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Got a special deal by booking in advance - free mini bar for the first night, and of course we emptied it!

The Hotel is very central, and close proximity to shops such as Zara, Sfera and other Spanish brands.

The car parking is underground, which is useful because it is very warm in Burgos this time of year.

The breakfast was very good, the building was large, traditional in design, simply beautiful.

The room was a little small for me, wife and kids, but we managed - can't complain, as we had a good rate for August.

Would I stay here again? Yes I would.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Enjoyable 2 day stay in Burgos and hotel very clean with pleasant staff who were very friendly. Not far from museum but good walk into old town where shops and most good restaurants are located. We had room at rear that was very quiet but the view faced inner courtyard which was drab. All in all good visit for a few days sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Burgos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Burgos

Address: Calle de la Merced, 13, 09002 Burgos, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio de la Merced)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
#1 Business Hotel in Burgos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Palacio de Burgos 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Palacio de Burgos hotel in Burgos is located right in the city center, perfect for getting to know one of Spain's most interesting and cultural cities and the surrounding Castilian region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Burgos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De La Merced Hotel Burgos
Nh Hotels Burgos
Nh Hotel Burgos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Palacio de Burgos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.