We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Landa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Landa to your Saves list
Landa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Madrid-Irun Km 235, 09001 Burgos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Room great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room was lovely and the staff were very nice. But we only found two of the staff that spoke English. My spanish is not the greatest so we had a lot of difficulty. I really would not stay again because of the language barrier. Also you have to make a reservation for your car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
74
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

tried booking through their website which wasn't working. then called the hotel and the women i spoke with said she would phone me back to help. she never called. when i called back a couple of hours later the hotel quoted me rates that were totally different than on their website. on top of that their website is essentially useless.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a place! We finally arrived, having taken circuitous routes for more than 40 minutes! Even our sat nav gave up! So glad we perservered, stunning. The room was delightfull with huge bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was very ornate but tastefully done and the bed linen was so soft and comfortable. We visited the bar, which was situated in a conservatory like area, with comfy sofas and chairs - the staff were very attentive and were even more so when we attempted to speak to them in Spanish. The pool is quite amazing - lots of photo opportunities and we even managed to get a late night swim before dinner. Dining room was vaulted and very attractive, staff were a little stilted but lightened up a bit when we tried our Spanish on them. The milk fed lamb was very tasty. We would revisit - and definitely stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I cannot find enough superlatives for this hotel. In terms of accommodations, it was easily the high point of our trip to Spain. Our room was spacious and beautiful, and the travertine marble bathroom was the size of a normal hotel bedroom. Everything is top of the line -- bed linens, furniture, fabrics, carpeting, vintage prints on the upholstered walls. "Finally," my companion said, "a really good mattress!" Service is excellent and unobtrusive, and everyone from reception to wait staff to bellman seemed kind and concerned for our comfort. It's like staying in a fairytale castle; the ground floor is littered with comfortable, and beautifully appointed, sitting rooms, perfect for curling up with a book after a day of exploring Burgos. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: For a memorable experience, splurge on a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thia was my second time at Landa Palace and I liked it even better now. Many renovations were done, the rooms are comfortable and trendy, mixed with old furniture. It has kept its Old World and medevial charm, the castle was built in the 13th century.
I had dinner in the bar, great tapas and boccadillos, breakfast really special also.
Eduardo and Isabel from reception were very professional and helpful.
I even had Molton Brown toiletries in my room.
Easy access from highway to Madrid

Room Tip: I had a room in the dungeon, very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eauze
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First stayed at the Landa twenty years ago and the only thing that has changed is that a motorway has been built right next to it, but believe it or not this did not impact our stay in anyway.
it is as if time has stood still at the Landa, even some of the dishes on the dinner menu were the same as our first visit. We have just one complaint, the lack of a knowledgeable wine waiter in the restaurant. We were keen to try new grape varieties and wanted some guidance as to which wine to accompany our dinner but this seemed beyond the restaurant staff. At one point they brought out a couple of bottles so we could read the labels and make our choice based on that! With some bottles at over 100euros they should do better than this. Apart from this one point everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the Landa en route to France, after reading the rave reviews here on Tripadvisor. An amazing place with sympathetic renovation of the old buildings, with lots of interesting artifacts "littered" around. The grounds are extensive and well maintained, the interior is spotless and classy. I took the advice of fellow reviewers and booked a suite (501) on the top floor of the old watchtower. Very impressive room, well equipped, clean, airy and comfortable with all facilities, although like most Spanish hotels an absence of any tea/coffee making facilities.
The restaurant was just amazing, with excellent food in a perfect setting. Service was friendly and efficient. Food first class and the selection of local wines was a delight (Ribiera del Duero).
For the return journey from my trip to France I naturally booked into the Landa. Either a bad day or we got the "B" team. Sadly not as enjoyable as our first visit and clearly some problem maintaining the high standards set on our initial visit. The room service was missing small things like bed not turned down, pot of coffee arrived as tea! ( Yes I do have some Spanish)
The restaurant seemed like a different place. The staff were a different team and the waiter was almost condescending in his manner. The wine list did not appear and I was presented with a mediocre wine rather than selecting my own choice. The "speciality" milk fed leg of lamb was clearly shoulder on this occasion, producing comment and complaints from adjacent tables.
I am not sure what changed, but sad to find inconsistency. Disappointing after such an amazing, and enjoyable stay first time round.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms seem more spacious and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landa

Address: Carretera Madrid-Irun Km 235, 09001 Burgos, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Burgos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Landa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beginning of the Landa dates back to 1959. A little restaurant was opened 2 km outside Burgos where travellers used to refresh themselves on their journey along the road which, despite its faults, was then the main route linking the capital with the north of Spain. The commitment of the Landa family to the hotel business dates back to the beginning of the 20th century with the "Real Club de Puerta de Hierro" in Madrid and "La Perla" in San Sebastian, and later with "La Gran Taberna", also in Madrid. The Landa started out during hard times for the Spanish hotel business in non urban areas; the hotel, its various extensions, the tower, the pool, the square... Were incorporated later on, little by little. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Landa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landa Hotel Burgos
Landa Palace Burgos
Landa Palace Hotel Burgos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.