We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silken Gran Teatro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silken Gran Teatro to your Saves list
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Arlanzon 8-b, 09004 Burgos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Burgos
1 review
“Skip this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Positives- comfortable bed and nice design

Negatives- staff snippy and not welcoming (especially the clerk with braces), view of an air shaft, smelly room, wifi didn't work properly and neither did the computer

You have many choices in Burgos and there is no reason to stay at this hotel

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    194
    50
    16
    14
See reviews for
66
198
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the end of our second stage of the Camino to Santiago (Logroño to Burgos) at about midday last Sunday - the worst possible time for the hotel, I imagine, as lots of weekend break guests were checking out. We had walked through wind and rain and were thoroughly wet and muddy as well as tired. The receptionist kindly offered to store our sodden walking things until check-in at 2 pm, but whilst we sorted ourselves out reported that we could check-in at 12.15 if we would like. Everything was perfect - super room overlooking the river, nice breakfast, and friendly and helpful staff despite our arriving at the end of a long wet walk. Our room had the best working area I have seen in any hotel, with a large writing table and proper task lighting. The hotel location is ideal, and thanks to the warm welcome of the staff we were really able to enjoy Burgos. It is just over the river from the award-winning Museum of Human Evolution in one direction and the wonderful Gothic Cathedral in the other. We both agreed that although this is a 4 star hotel, we couldn't have wished for anything more, hence the 5 star review. Having returned home today, we are already looking to book at this hotel in a few months' time, which perhaps says more than anything. Thank you Hotel Silken, and we do hope you will have room for us again later this year!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gryhpe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would have liked to give this hotel more stars, but it had drawbacks. Maybe because we booked quite late it seemed expensive, but because of the price I expected a larger room. There was only just room for the bed, and since it had a wooden surround i kept banging my ankle on a corner. And the parking! I would advise non Spaniards with large cars to avoid it if they can, because it really tests one's driving ability and temper. And at 14€ each the breakfast seemed pricey, although we just went over to the cafe on the other side of the road. So that's the negatives, but on the plus side the location was great, the food offered by room service was moderately priced, as were the drinks in the bar. And their boiled sweets are really excellent.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direccion_granteatro, Propietario at Hotel Silken Gran Teatro, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear gryhpe,

Thanks a lot for choosing our hotel silken gran teatro in your stay at burgos.
I am sorry about your experience in the car park, and the design of bed.
It is really pleasant for us , know than you enjoy the location and food ofered by room service.

Best regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The hotel is really close to the historical city center. You can walk there (5 mns max). I usually stay one night per year in Burgos, on my way to France, and this is the second hotel I try in this city. I will probably come back to this one: it was clean, the staff was friendly enough, they have parking under the hotel and the cost is fair for what they offer. I don't like that much of the decor (a little bit dark for me), but, again, it's just to sleep one night, and the bed was confortable and the bathroom was just fine.
My room didn't have outside windows, instead there was a window to an internal place (the building has a skylight in the middle, to where some rooms and the elevator are facing). But, in Spain, that is not that bad, because sometimes the popluar places have street noises all nigth long - at least we were able to sleep well.
We always go outside for breakfast, to enjoy the wonderfull bakeries they have.

Room Tip: There rooms with external or internal (to a skylight) windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direccion_granteatro, Gerente at Hotel Silken Gran Teatro, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear PhiDC

Thanks for choosing our hotel in your stay at Burgos.
It is really pleasant for us to receive this kind of reviews of our hotel , given one positive opinion about our location and good cost/ value relation

Best Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Returning from the South of Spain to Bordeaux we stopped over on a Saturday night. The staff were very welcoming, and all we met spoke good English.
The room was very comfortable and quiet, 5th floor. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening although the menu looked quite good, but we did have a late drink at the busy bar.
The hotel is very central with all the shops and the old town within minutes walking
Next morning's breakfast was excellent.
We were very glad we had used the garage (15.5€) as there had been a heavy snowfall overnight and all the cars parked on the street were covered in snow, however it is a very small garage and access is challenging.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direccion_granteatro, Propietario at Hotel Silken Gran Teatro, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Green-David-Green

Thanks a lot to choose our hotel in your stay at Burgos.
It is really pleasant for us to receive this kind the reviews, explaining us that our staff is friendly , our situation and wonderfull breakfast buffet

Best regards
Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Very pleased with the location of this hotel and I could not fault the staff who were all friendly, helpful and very professional - so the customer care training is obviously good here.
However the downside - the room I felt was a bit small, dark with insufficient lighting. The bed was very low and the corners were very painful if you bumped into them. The 'free' Wifi was non-existent so I gave up on it. The bedroom was a good size with if anything overly bright lighting, not very flattering for someone of my age, and the shower in use spilt water all over the floor. Trying to navigate the car parking spaces was a nightmare and our rental car was not a large one - I also thought it was expensive, but to be fair I don't know where else we would have parked. Breakfast was included which was good value but unless you got up early the hot food was stone cold.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out on to the street as we were disturbed at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direccion_granteatro, Gerente at Hotel Silken Gran Teatro, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear BlynisB

Thanks for chosing our hotel in your stay at Burgos City
It is very pleasant for us earing you about our good location.
We are sorry for the incovenience that you explain us about the light, we are changing light for other of more w
About the beds, they have a modern design and are lows , but we have a few beds more high , please ask us about them in other stay.

I hope you come back to our hotel

Best regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I've stayed 1 night at this hotel.

Positive aspects:
- location is excellent, at a short walking distance from the cathedral, Plaza Mayor and the bars and restaurants area
- the hotel has a garage for 15,50 eur/day, which is quite convenient, since there was no available parking places at a reasonable distance
- all members of staff I've contacted were nice and willing to help
- good value for money

Not so positive aspects:
- light from lamps in the room could be stronger, however the main point is that it's too white, making the room feel too cold (I mean the 'ambiance')
- my mattress was too soft in the center, probably due to usage, causing some discomfort during sleep

As a conclusion, I'd say it's a very good hotel, mainly due to its location and the fact that it has a garage, that I'd reccomend for a short stay.

Changing the 'colour temperature' of light bulbs to a slightly warmer light and changing old mattresses would have a significant positive impact in guest comfort.

I may consider staying there again next time I visit Burgos.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direccion_granteatro, Gerente at Hotel Silken Gran Teatro, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Dear Luisito,

First of all thanks so much for your review about your stay in our hotel, its a pleasure for us getting this kind of good comments about location, garage and staff.
I am sorry about the inconvenience with the lights; Light is white because of design, but we are changing for others with more voltage.
Talking about maitresse , we will try to get the room number to check it.


Best regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silken Gran Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Gran Teatro

Address: Avda de Arlanzon 8-b, 09004 Burgos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Burgos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Gran Teatro 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silken Gran Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Teatro Burgos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silken Gran Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.