We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospital de Tavera

Hospital de Tavera
Duque de Lerma 2, 45003 Toledo, Spain
(+34) 925 22 04 51
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 92 things to do in Toledo
Attraction details
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a interesting tour with an enthusiastic bi-lingual (Spanish/English) tour guide and without her the visit would have been much less interesting - she made strenuous efforts to make our visit worthwhile! The ancient 14-16 century manuscripts could have been 'brought to life' with maybe some examples of the remedies used for various ailments. An enjoyable visit which was close to our favourite bars near the park.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

You pay 6€ to see the small, but albeit interesting old pharmacy, with a guide who only speaks Spanish, and no photos allowed... and an ordinary church and 5 paintings..... It costs less to visit Orsay in Paris where you can easily spend most of the day .

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Closed for a very long lunch!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The museum advertises that it closes for lunch between 1330 and 1500 which is kind of frustrating when you have only a couple of days in the city.

We arrived at 1500, the front door was open but there was nobody at the ticket desk. There was still nobody there half an hour later when we left.

Staff and what appeared to be researchers came and went - they said it would be opening but would not help locate anyone to help.

It may have some beautiful objects but we didn't get to see them.......

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Quiet, Beautiful and worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

There was not too much info available here. You could visit the original pharmacy or just get a ticket to wander round which included the church and the crypt underneath (a little scary). We were the only people there so got some great photos. A good quick visit before heading in to the main town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Costing 4.5 euros each, my husband and I and 2 friends took the opportunity to visit one of the apparently lesser known attractions in Toledo as we ended up with our own personal tour guide!
Starting in the chapel, which was surprisingly light and bright, we were directed down some steps into the crypt. We didn't really know what to expect but were surprised to encounter an experience that puts St Paul's whispering gallery in the shade.
The slightest whisper or footstep echoed around the crypt and stepping on a slightly loose floor tile gave a crack that sounded like a rifle shot.
After visiting the chapel we joined our Spanish tour guide who first showed us into the pharmacy that was used by the hospital (no longer in use) and we were able to view bottles, tools and instruments that were centuries old. We then visited the rooms once occupied by Toledo's ruling family and were able to view works of art painted by El Greco and other Spanish artists.
The guide brought everything to life with a great commentary and the library in particular was very impressive.
Provided with as much time as we wanted to revisit the chapel (the resting place of the powerful Cardinal Tavera) and to explore the outside of the building once the official tour had finished, it is a highly recommended visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hospital de Tavera also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Hospital de Tavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospital de Tavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.