We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming atmosphere and very good olives!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada El Cristo de la Luz

Posada El Cristo de la Luz
Puerta Cristo de la Luz | Calle Cristo de la Luz, Toledo, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 290 Restaurants in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tel: 622541297
Doha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming atmosphere and very good olives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Olives and falafel were excellent! The tajine of beef was flavorful. The presentation is not attractive but overall a wonderful meal. The chai and baklava was terrific as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    45
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A happy accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After being turned away from 2 sold-out restaurants for a late lunch we happened upon Posada El Cristo de la Luz. Having passed by many middle-eastern restaurants in Madrid we decided we should give it a try and what better place than Toledo? The decor was comfy and relaxed and created a perfect atmosphere for the food. The food was perfectly seasoned without being salty. The hummus was perfect with a lovely silken texture with lots of olive oil and paprika. The chicken kebob was moist and not overcooked and the french fries (not sure if french fries is authentic to middle eastern cuisine) had just the right amount of white sauce. The salad with dill did not come dripping with dressing and the eggplant and tomato appetizer did not fall apart on the fork. The beef tangine had the perfect ratio of meat to sauce ratio and was very satisfying. My only note was that my companion's appetizer/entree came out first before my meal. We ended up sharing her lunch and was almost done before my appetizer/entree came out together. I would also have preferred pita with my meal instead of white bread. Not that we're complaining--the food was all delicious and we enjoyed it all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Such a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a very special Friday evening here after reading about it on Trip Advisor. I had rang and booked and although I speak Spanish, the owner speaks excellent English. We are an English and Spanish couple (he didn´t think he liked Morccan/Middle Eastern food) and a 12 year old. We all loved the dishes on the set menu for 10 euros each, especially the hummus, flat bread, beef tagine and chicken kebab. The Syrian pizza (flat bread, salad and kebab meat) as an extra was delicious. The wine was good and reasonable and we found ourselves admits a poetry reading and welcomed by all, which added to the atmosphere. My son really enjoyed it and my partner now believe he likes food from these regions. It is very inexpensive, a lovely place with a great host and I cannot recommend it enough. I would return again to Toledo just for an evening there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We came across this out-of-the-way restaurant by accident, and were drawn in by the atmosphere. Were we ever glad we did, because we had a delicious meal (hummus, falafel, friend eggplant with tomato, beef tajine with prunes, almonds and sesame, and chicken kebabs) and incredible service by the owner, Ghaleb, who was very attentive to our needs. This cozy restaurant, which opened about 18 months ago, has a Moroccan decor with lots of Moroccan and Middle Eastern objects, low tables and low lighting. And the price was incredibly low too – we had a full meal (excluding wine) for only 10 euros per person. The reason? Ghaleb is more concerned about pleasing his customers than making lots of money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grazing at Posada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I write this review after spending a wonderful evening at the Posada where we were presented with an array of dishes that one can only describe as absolutely delicious. We were unsure what to have from the menu so we asked for a taster of everything on the menu and were presented with Chicken, beef, lamb and various vegetable dishes and probably the best hummus ever, 2 bottles of wine and all for 60 euros and 4 very satisfied people. Thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada El Cristo de la Luz also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Posada El Cristo de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada El Cristo de la Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.