We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Synagogue, a Church, A Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Synagogue of Saint Mary the White (Santa Maria la Blanca)

Synagogue of Saint Mary the White (Santa Maria la Blanca)
Reyes Catolicos 4, Toledo, Spain
925-227257
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$118*
and up
Ranked #26 of 69 Attractions in Toledo
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Kuwait
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Synagogue, a Church, A Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The crossing of three cultures in Toledo is in evidence here. First a synagogue, the design is heavily Islamic; later a church, there are Christian frescoes. There always seems to be a religious (Christian) art exhibition going on when I've visited. Well worth seeing at a small entrance fee, Santa Maria la Blanca is quiet, lovely, profound.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    93
    72
    31
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very simple, totally exquisite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You probably won't spend very much time on this visit but you are likely to remember what you see for a long time after you have left (certainly we have never forgotten the impression it made on us 35 years ago). This former synagogue spent many years as a Christian church and all that is left now is the beauty of its structure - but what simple beauty that is! When we were there there was quite a big exhibition in the space, which I fear we did not like very much. Best perhaps to take in the beauty of the space and to reflect on the tragic loss of Spain's Jewish heritage

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is very interesting to see the influence of the Jews in Toledo. This city is magical and you can feel the way three religions lived there together.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good, quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited March 2013 and there was alot of construction and remodeling being done, particularly outside of the building. I believe it cost either 2.5 or 3 Euros. Good visit to see the inside of this former Jewish Synagogue turned Christian Church. Inside is beautiful to see structurally. There is an altar area, but otherwise, there is little decoration in the context of paintings, sculpture, etc. The art is the structural building itself. There were contemporary art displays and news/posters on the wall, but not much else. I did not spend time looking at this local display. The structural art of the building is interesting to see. Even though it is sparse inside and the visit is primarily to see the physical building itself, I would visit it again to see the structural art and to experience this church in understanding it's history. It could be visited in 5 minutes, or longer. I spent about a comfortable 10 - 15 minutes. That was plenty of time to enjoy it. It was March and it was cold in the building.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suceava, Romania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“extremelly dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This sinagoga is situated in Jewish quarter of Toledo. There is an access fee of 2,50 euros and that time I visited it was also some contructions in the courtyard. The sinagoga is quite small, a room and some pillars and typical arhitecture of a sinagoga. In 1930 was declared a national monument. No photos allowed inside.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Synagogue of Saint Mary the White (Santa Maria la Blanca) also viewed

 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Synagogue of Saint Mary the White (Santa Maria la Blanca)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Synagogue of Saint Mary the White (Santa Maria la Blanca), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.