We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while in Toledo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Santo Tome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Santo Tome to your Saves list
Hostal Santo Tome
Santo Tome 13, 45002 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while in Toledo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Overall, very good hostal. Unbeatable location in the center of historic Toledo. The room where we stayed was big and clean. We had a balcony overlooking one lively street and surrounded by bars and souvernir shops. Staff was also very nice and helpful.

Beware if you come here by car as the streets get narrower and narrower and eventually you have to drive with care not to run over pedestrians.

There is a public parking nearby for 17eur a day. Seems the hostal has its own parking garage at a price of 12e per day, albeit we did not use theirs.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night during our stay in Toledo and everything was great. The location was very convenient, our rooms were well appointed and clean, and the man who runs the place is friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this place to others. The Cafe de Monjas (nun cafe) is just down the street. Great place for breakfast and treats.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

If you want to stay in the ancient heart of this wonderful city, and are happy with simple, good value, spotlessly clean accommodation, look no further. The hostal Santo Tome does not pretend to be a luxury hotel, but the air conditioned room I had was of a good size, and the bathroom would put many more expensive hotels I have stayed in to shame. The owner could not have been more helpful or friendly. Like many less expensive hotels in Spain, the hostal does not offer breakfast (or other meals), but there are numerous bars, cafes, and restaurants nearby, so this really isn't a problem. I loved being able to walk out from the hotel and immediately become lost in the maze of narrow cobbled streets that constitute the old city.
One word of caution: Toledo does attract large crowds at the height of the summer, when the temperature and humidity are also at their most trying. Inevitably this can take the edge of one's quiet enjoyment of Toledo's many riches. Visiting outside this period is likely to be more enjoyable. But even in the summer, many visitors come just for the day, so early morning and late afternoon and evening can still be good times to see the city for those who are staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our stay in the perfectly located "Hostal Santo Tomé" was the highlight of our pilgrimage from Valencia to Toledo. The owners have been incredibly friendly and helpful, even letting us use their private Laptop when we needed to book a flight. Our room was clean, warm, bright and quiet. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Can't praise this place enough. It's basic in some ways - no restaurant/breakfast. But if you aren't looking for somewhere to stay that also does food, look no further. There are many restaurants in the vicinity anyway.
The owner, who also runs the shop on the ground floor, was extremely helpful and really made me feel welcome. I had a choice of rooms, and it was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There were good facilities in the room. There is a little communal lounge and a display of information and leaflets, and they kindly stored my luggage for the afternoon after checkout until I was catching my train, and called me a taxi.
It was great value, and in a superb location.

Room Tip: I was in an attic room which did have a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Sanitary was very good, clean and spacious. The airco works fine. People were kind and helpful. The location is superb in the center of Toledo with a private parking near the hostal (not free). Very good price-offer for this hostal.
Negatives: Almost nothing if you don't want to use the television, that was the smallest one ever. It would be helpful if there is more accurate information about the costs of sight tickets in the hotelroom, e.g. in an information map.
Summarizing, we had a very pleasant stay in Toledo for two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in hostel for 2 nights in October 2012 and we like it. Hostel is located in the ancient Jewish neighborhood that is the best part of old Toledo city. We had the room on 3rd floor with a big balcony overlooking streets and roofs of Toledo. Room is very comfortable and clean, bathroom is fully equipped. Owners are very friendly and helpful,speak English.
For the drivers-hostel has its own private car garage -offsite-300m far.
We loved Hostal Santo Tome and certainly stay here again.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Santo Tome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santo Tome

Address: Santo Tome 13, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Santo Tome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Santo Tome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.