We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Transito Synagogue and Sephardic Museum

El Transito Synagogue and Sephardic Museum
Calle de Samuel Levi, 45002 Toledo, Spain
925 22 36 65
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 69 Attractions in Toledo
Type: Religious Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Madrid
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Must visit place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a tranquil place. The history of the Jews in Sefarad is so well researched and you must take your time to read the information boards. There is a whiff of proselytism in all these places. Wonderfully quiet patios

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    182
    62
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful but Sad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Enjoyed our time in Toledo but it was depressing to see what was once the center of the Jewish world reduced to a few tiles on the street...City has tried to revive history but so much more could be done (all they would have to do is literally dig a little and uncover additional Jewish history)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a beautiful building in the old Jewish quarter of Toledo with many architectural and cultural details that have been well preserved. It serves not only to remind the world of the tragic injustices of the Spanish Inquisition, but to remind Spain of what their society lost due to this early example of ethnic cleansing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Did not live up to my expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This synagogue and museum is recommended by travel guides, so I went there with high expectations. But I was disappointed, as I did not find anything interesting or notable there. I am a history buff, enjoying museums and old churches, but this was not my place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
178 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A Interesting Historical Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Well worth the visit but buy the audio guide.
It gives you booth an overview of the synagogue and the museum
There wasn't a lot about the inquisition but most of the descriptions
Of the contents were interesting.
Nothing is in English

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Transito Synagogue and Sephardic Museum also viewed

 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to El Transito Synagogue and Sephardic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Transito Synagogue and Sephardic Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.