We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait and poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna El Botero

Taberna El Botero
Calle de la Ciudad, 5, 45002 Toledo, Spain
+34 925 28 09 67
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 264 Restaurants in Toledo
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Long wait and poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Given the good recommendations from travellers and our hotel, we were surprised by the poor experience we had here.We were upstairs in the small formal restaurant. The service was very slow, the food was slower and then brought the wrong course and the rest undercooked. Portions are small and overall trying to be too designer.
We sensed that they were having difficulties in the kitchen that day and to their credit they did not charge us for our meal. Perhaps a one off bad day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    7
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The menu was a surprise since they offered 3 daily menus at different price ranges (23 to 35 euros) but the food description was ABSENT.... When we asked (yes we speak Spamish) how we could decide on what to choose they asked us if we had any food allergies or a strong dislike of a specific food group we were told that they would immediately change the item with one we liked. we went with this scheme and I must say enjoyed the food presented a whole lot, well presented, well adjusted flavors (ox tail) and lovely deserts They pride themselves in wine and food pairings which worked well. Even by the glass
Still I think they are between menus right now and may give up with on this strange idea BY no means you typical Spanish restaurant
Try It!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food but fell at the last hurdle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a great restaurant with fabulous food. Despite not speaking any English (and us speaking very poor Spanish!) the staff made us feel welcome and they went out of their way to help us understand the tasting menu. The food was brilliant, and was cooked perfectly and we loved every mouthful. Sadly we were the last table in the upstairs restaurant and the staff disappeared downstairs after serving our coffee, and didn't come back. We had to go downstairs and request the bill at the bar which was a little awkward, and sadly tainted the rest of the experience. My tip would be to go before 10pm when it's busy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Just enjoyed a wonderful night. The atmosphere was very quaint, terrific service and absolutely wonderful food. Had the tuna, cooked to perfection and my husband the special of the night, white fish. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deserves a star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Really good restaurant, very friendly staff and amazing value for money. A definate must!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna El Botero also viewed

 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Taberna El Botero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna El Botero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.