We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and fantastic "house" red” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Fabula

Restaurante Fabula
C/ la Merced, 6, Toledo, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 263 Restaurants in Toledo
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fantastic "house" red”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This an intimate wee restaurant that was empty when we stopped by for lunch (like most restaurants in Toledo food is served between 12 and 4) and stayed pretty quiet until we left. The service was very attentive as you'd expect in an empty restaurant and the menu had some elements of fine dining about it along with the usual tapas fare.

Being very hungry and having chosen this place because of the reviews on trip advisor, we went for it: we had the aubergine with goats cheese, red pepper and caramelised onion, a "media racion" of "croquetas", a "media racion" of small squid with caramelised onion, a "media racion" of mixed fried seafood and a plate of "datiles rellenos" which is dates wrapped in bacon stuffed with goat's cheese and almonds. Perhaps we could have combined the dishes we chose a bit better in retrospect but the food was of a consistently high standard and the stuffed dates, the aubergine dish and the small squid really stood out as being exceptionally tasty. And we washed it down with possibly the best house red I've ever had. When the bill came, it was very reasonable for the quantity and quality of food and wine we had consumed.

La Fabula is slightly more fine-dining than your average tapas bar and is probably most suitable for a romantic dinner. Having said that, the three dishes we loved and the red wine were all out of this world so I would really recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves good food and wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco / Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We selected Fabula for our only meal during a day trip to Toledo. It was recommended by someone we trust, however it was easily the worst meal we had during 2 weeks in Spain. We tried 3 dishes: Patatas Bravas, Secreto, and a mushroom dish. The mushrooms were pretty good, but the other two dishes were just awful. The Patatas Bravas were completely uninspired. Chop potatoes into cubes, deep fry, place on a dish, douse heavily with ketchup. Nothing "braves" about these potatoes. The real stinker of the meal was the Secreto. We were served a piece of meat that was totally inedible. It looked like Secreto, but it was so tough that a fork could not puncture it to hold it in place while cutting. Even the knife had trouble cutting into this meat. This was our first Secreto, so we didn't know what to expect (or I would have sent it back). Later during our trip we experienced Secreto as it should be. Shame Fabula!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and seated quickly. We asked for recommendations and were pointed to the eggplant, a salad with avocados and drizzled with caramelized sugar, and the venison. We would not have picked any of these out, but OH MY GOODNESS - THEY WERE SPECTACULAR! The presentation was utterly amazing, and all the dishes cooked to perfection. The venison was particularly delicious - not at ALL gamey, perfectly seasoned, and tender. If we could have eaten here every night of our trip, we would have. The prices are great, the service wonderful, and the food divine! One of the best meals we've ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening, a selection of tapas although some quite substantial. The food was excellent and service very good as well. Really enjoyed it and would recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tapas inside the old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Tables for about 20 people ... Go early. Lovely service ... Super chorizo appetizers, suckling fried pig ribs, and high marks for salad with nuts, roasted peppers, avocado and red lettuce.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Fabula also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Restaurante Fabula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Fabula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.