We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and central.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lizarran

Lizarran
Calle Toledo de Ohio 3, Toledo, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 263 Restaurants in Toledo
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cordoba, Spain
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Convenient and central.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you fancy a quick beer and something light to eat, this branch of Lizarran is the perfect place to stop for a break. During our visit, we enjoyed various pinchitos (Tortilla stuffed with salmon, Lacon with cream cheese, amongst others) and were impressed by the freshness and quality of the food. Also available to order are raciones (large portions) of several typical dishes like Paella and even Serrano ham which are very reasonably priced at €6.90, and maybe best of all, a small beer (or caña) is only 70 cents.

If you take into account that this bar is simply a place to sit for a few minutes and enjoy some light food, and not a cosy, romantic restaurant, it really is exceptional and a good alternative to fast food restaurants.

The service was really friendly and fast, especially compared to other branches of Lizarran I have visited. It's the ideal place to stop for a break or enjoy a light lunch whilst you are visiting the sights of Toledo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    18
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrible food and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Being a Spaniard, I have pride on the gastronomy of my country and the delicious food that many restaurants offer. Lizarran is quite the opposite. Understaffed, poor and slow service and terrible food. We ordered fish and it was dry and chewy. Lousy French fries and paella. Everything taste like frozen food being heated up in the microwave. Beer is weak and has no taste.
Tapas is the core of the Spanish cuisine and the Lizarran chain is the poorest tapas experience you could have in Spain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Value and Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

First night in Toledo for my husband and I and 2 friends and came across the Lizarran not far off the main shopping thoroughfare.
A busy restaurant with quick table turnaround we ventured inside having been given a flyer by a young man in the street.
The restaurant was lively with a good atmosphere and it appeared to be frequented by a good mix of locals and tourists. Offering traditional Spanish and Toledo specialities, we sampled the local pork and pea stew which was tasty and satisfying.
3 courses plus a beer for only 10 euros - excellent value for money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The worst meal I've eaten in spain so far”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We ordered fixed menus, that were meant to cost €9 but we eventually had to pay €14 for each. Waitress confused the dishes, so in the end i got beef instead of swordfish. It was terrible, i couldnt finish it. My friends got cod, in weird sauce which was just awful. Then we got desserts, vanila creams, which werent creams at all... i wanted to throw up just after i got out. I guess i could cook better than they did The worst restaurant ive been to and ive travelled across spain many many times. Dont go there. Waste of money and appetite

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“manager has excellent english;”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

nice for novice travellers, from new zealand [or other english language countries] just arrived in spain. he was also very helpful and food excellent value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizarran also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Lizarran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizarran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.