We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous outdoors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal del Cardenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal del Cardenal to your Saves list
Hostal del Cardenal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found Hotel del Cardinal quite easily on our arrival in Toledo. Situated on the edge of old town walls it was fairly straightforward to spot. We parked outside in the small public car park and after consulting with the staff member we moved few meters up the road to the underground parking that had a deal with the hotel offering discount. It was a gorgeous hotel with stunning garden, numerous charming seating areas and very beautiful decor. We appreciated the location as we were close enough to all attractions ( escalator takes you to the centre of the old town if you don't fancy walking up the hill and climbing too many stairs) and far enough to relax in peace looking from the city walls out. We got lovely, if a bit tired room on the ground floor overlooking the garden however in the evening we discovered that the outdoor restaurant hosts events in the garden just outside our windows! We managed to get some sleep regardless only to wake up in the morning to a strange, unpleasant smell, not a great beginning of the day. Getting up after 8am we didn't have very much left on the breakfast buffet and it was very hard to find a table as the designated breakfast area was rather small in comparison with the size of the hotel. I guess they were not expecting a lot of people coming to breakfast at the same time!
We will probably come back to the hotel but definitely ask for a room further from the restaurant!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    86
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
114
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Tricky to find but once there it is well placed for parking and the 6 esculators that take you up to the old city.The Hotel is comfortable and full of antiques and places to sit and relax but has a few surprisingly irritating minuses. The rooms are fine but missing a fridge or a place to make a late night drink. The breakfast is really poor in a dismal crowded first floor room. Poorly replenished unappetising food,indifferent staff and the TV on ! Why when they have a garden full of tables under umbrella's ............................Also one incident when we were relaxing reading in the garden/bar area the Staff turned on blaring music forcing us to retreat and then realise later that it was their way of "clearing the area " for a group eating at the Restaurant that night. Ok but maybe there are better choices than this available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a great deal of fun finding this hotel which is just past the Biagra Gate - unfortunately, we must have counted the exits from roundabouts incorrectly and had a whale of a time driving through the narrow streets of the Old Town - but all was well in the end as some locals felt pity on us and directed us to the correct location. The location, by the way, is superb, with the hotel set in the sheer cliffs of the Old Town - don't expect a view of the city - its behind you! A short hop to the 6 flight escalator which takes you to the South of the Old Town and an easy walk up the hill to the 'Town Centre' complete with McDonalds and Burger King - oh the shame of it but I can thoroughly recommend Burger Kings 'Roja' meal :-) The car park for the hotel is underground and about 100 meters from the main entrance - but you can park in the square in front of the hotel so long as you are friendly with the chap who seems to be the unofficial guardian :-) The hotel is at the rear of a lovely garden - which I'm afraid is part of the restaurant which as far as we could find out has nothing to do with the hotel - other than name. The staff were all courteous and helpful but there was no 'information pack' of any description so we were unaware that the safe is operated using a key (20 euro deposit), who knows what the keypad is for! - or that breakfast is served in a small mezzanine room - and no hint of room service although strangely the room came with 2 wine glasses - but no means of opening a bottle. The welcome fruit kebabs were lovely (an additional extra). The room was clean, tidy and the bed wonderfully firm. Quiet with the sound of birdsong in the morning. There were no drink making facilities or little fridge but since the whole area is awash with cafes and small stores thats not too big a deal unless you like Tea :-) The interior of the hotel is delightful with some beautiful ceramic tiles and ancient furniture. All in all so nearly perfect! So how could the Hotel acheive something closer to perfection - IMPROVE THE BREAKLFAST! This just didn't mesh with the rest of the hotel - it was poor. If you want a hot breakfast and like boiled rashers of bacon and some very tired frankfurters then you have reached nirvana. No eggs, no fresh fruit, as far as I could tell nothing remotely Spanish anywhere. Old CocoPops, Uncrisp Rice Crispies & damp Muesli - however, the toaster was pretty good. I had a lovely Spanish breakfast at Madrid Airport served by Urban Grill for about 6 euros in 4 minutes - I would suggest a day out for the staff to have a sample of good, cheap food. It such a shame that this part of the service is so out of character for such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A 17th century cardinal's palace built into the wall in Toledo is a convenient and wonderful place to stay. Near the Bisagra Gate it is close to the escalators that take you right into town. A parking garage is right next to the hotel and they give you a reduced rate if you have your ticket stamped before you leave. The rooms are spacious and very authentic. You know the hotel is old but very well kept. The only difficult part are the steps from the sidewalk up to the hotel. Not so many but quite a few so have as little luggage as possible. Worth the walk!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and adult child stayed here recently for an overnight in our first visit to Toledo. The location is terrific a short cab ride (5-6 Euro) from the train station. It is on the edge of the old city but 50 meters to the elevator, or an easy uphill walk to the Zocodover. (Much was made of climbing the "hill" of Toledo in many guide books; and while it is a hill, if you are in moderate shape, it is a non-issue.) The hotel is very quiet and a bit of a retreat. The structure is very quaint having been converted from what orginally was a Cardinal's palace. It has an inviting largely shaded courtyard framed in part by the original city walls which provided a nice place to explore the walls or sit, relax, and recharge with a refreshment. The view from the hotel of the Bisagra gate, especially lit at night, was a bonus. The rooms were nice with interesting woodwork, and doable, if a bit tight, for three. The beds were very comfortable although our "double" was two singles, made up as singles, just pushed together. The bath we had was updated in granite and surprisingly elegant from our expectations. The AC unit provided a nice chill to escape from the mid-day heat. We did not eat dinner there, but the breakfast was comprehensive, if not sumptuous. The hotel seemed a bit short staffed, but they were all very friendly. Lugging the bags up the steps as others mentioned was unexpected and a bit of a chore. We only got the free wifi by sitting in the lobby. Overall, an authentic well-priced experience that, as one guide noted, was a kind-of "poor man's parador." I recommend it as such!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is most special. Its interior decor is a fusion of Muslim & Christian style. Located in a restored heritage building, the hotel reflects the cultural heritage of Toledo. the staff are polite & helpful. Internet access is available. Breakfast is adequate. The hotel is a distance away from the train station. I will recommend hotel guests to take a cab to & from the train station if they are travelling with luggage. It is not easy to locate the hotel. One can access the city centre from the hotel in abt 20-30mins by a combination of walking & a set of escalators. Hotel rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a nice room but felt it could do with refurbishing.
Staff were very pleasant.
The restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent.
Breakfast at the hotel was not well organised considering they must have been providing breakfast for many years so they would have had lots of practice.
We just had the feeling that the whole place was short of money.
we know and appreciate its an old place but
Our toilet in our bathroom dripped all the time and must have been like that for some time.
No writing materials or anything like it in the room.
Some of the lights did not work.
Biggest problem was that you had better be able to lug your cases from the street, through the garden and then up three flights of outside stone steps and then up and down small flights of stairs in the hotel. Arriving in the rain would not be a good idea. No staff available to help either.
The hotel might argue, but when you arrive at the gate there is no way to notify the reception that you might need help. They show up to help you over the stoop into reception. So be prepared.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Cardenal

Address: Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal del Cardenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal del Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.