We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, don't use laundry service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal del Cardenal

Save Saved
You added Hostal del Cardenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal del Cardenal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Toledo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful, don't use laundry service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is to gorgeous, the hotel itself is an old castle and is very charming and beautiful. The breakfast they offer is excellent as well. Just do not do laundry with them unless you read the list of prices per item. We paid $200+ not knowing the cost per item, but they were nice about it. I would highly recommend it nontheless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My 8 year old son and I spent 3 nights in Toledo in March 2012. Staying at the Hostal del Cardenal made our vacation magical. Every day my son pretended to be a guard during medieval times and made us walk around the wall before leaving the hotel for the city. The hotel is a historic building and it is located right on the city wall. The staff at the hotel was friendly and always helpful and the restaurant was also very nice. Breakfast was good and you could use the expresso coffee maker at any time during the day. Across the street, there is a nice park where they had a street market during our stay. It was very colorful, with life music and lots of people. We bought many old used books at the market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel del Cardenal is a charming hotel right on the old city wall yet with a very secluded feeling. The grounds are lovely and inviting to sit out in the evening- there is also a terrace indoors on the first level in which we enjoyed a quiet moment before bed. A few steps out the door and you are at the escalators (and escalators...) to take you up to the old city. Everything you might like to see is at easy walking distance, depending on your fitness level as there are a lot of steep climbs. Comfortable bed and pillows, helpful staff. The only downside is that sound travels here and you can be a bit too aware of your fellow residents.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and ate in the hotel on 2 of them, in the outdoor area of the restaurant. We found all the staff helpful and friendly and the hotel gardens are a great place to chill out and relax after the bustle of Toledo. Very handy for the escalators to avoid exhausting uphill trek into the town.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room windows opened onto an indoor courtyard which is a great spot to sit and read...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right outside the walls of Toledo. Unlike our usual stays at modern hotels, this place looks like it could be part of the wall itself. Since it is a historic building, it creates an atmosphere that Makesyou feel like your still experiencing Toledo long after you've finished the tour. My wife got food poisoning in Madrid and we arrived here, the staff was very concerned and helpful. They told us where the local hospital was located and even checked up on us and brought up some tea. I would definitely stay here again next time I am passing through!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights in July and it was fantastic. The location, the "ambiance", the grounds and the service were very very good. Happy we stayed there and can't wait to go back!!! We walked to our hotel from the train station, easy to do, great views and a good introduction for what's next!! It's like traveling back in time, Toledo was everything I expect it would be, the stay at this hotel was a big part of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Gorgeous hotel settled in a historic building next to the famous Bisagra Gate. The gardens are beautiful and it is a true oasis of peace and quiet. Angelica, one of the receptionists, was very nice, friendly and helpful, very professional.
Cons: the male receptionist was dry and unpleasant and not very helpful. The internet connection failed multiple times. There are long set of stairs to reach the hotel. It was not an issue for us but it could be for someone carrying a lot of luggage or someone with a physical impediment. The reception desk is a one person operation so there is no help available for your luggage. The breakfast was overpriced and lousy. We went to town and had breakfast in the many bars and restaurants around.
Overall: we loved the hotel, the settings, the beautifully decorated interior and we'd recommend it to anyone visiting Toledo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Cardenal

Address: Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal del Cardenal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal del Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.