We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well positioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal del Cardenal

Save Saved
You added Hostal del Cardenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal del Cardenal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Toledo
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming and well positioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its accessibility (just outside the old walls, and at the foot of the escalator leading to the old centre); and because of its character. It scores ten out of ten on both those points. The rooms were well appointed and with plenty of character, and we loved the “old palace” feel of the hotel. Yes, as others have written, there is a courtyard to cross and stairs to climb before arriving although there is a ramp at the right of the arch, we managed with large suitcases. Where this hotel falls down is with the service. We sent three emails asking if they had availability, if we should book instead through Best Western online, about parking options – no reply to any. On arrival and departure the reception desk staff would best be described as disinterested. The waiter at breakfast watched the football on TV while we were at brekfast rather than serving us. It was quite comical how poor it was. So if you can ignore the service as we did, stay for position and character - and it was good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aubonne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Hacienda (or Hostal) del Cardenal in the Best Western chain is an elegant but inexpensive 3-star hotel on the ring road around the historic old city, near the main city gate and literally just at the bottom of the 4-stage escalator that carries pedestrians up into the old city. It was originally an 18th century pavilion built by the famous Cardinal Lorenzana, built right into the city walls, but it has been thoroughly renovated and is very charming. Within the main gate, in addition to the large three-story hotel, there is an upscale restaurant specializing in suckling pig and other specialties from the region and a charming little taverna, both open to the grand public as well as to guests. The breakfast is ample and served in a very beautiful room. We were frankly astonished that the cost of the room (in November) was as low as it was, though the restaurant was a bit pricier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Many have complained about the stairs getting up to reception. Yes there are plenty of them but the schlep is worth every huff and puff. I am 62 and with heavy luggage, taking my time, I made it just fine.

The rooms were well appointed, large (bay European standards), the breakfast was plentiful and the building lovely all with a very helpful and friendly staff.

I could not imagine staying anywhere else when I return to Toledo.

Room Tip: We chose a standard double and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an excellent deal at this hotel since our suite was free because of a summer promotion Best Western ran in 2012. After a week of nice but bare bones hotels in Grenada and Cordoba, the luxury of the Cardenal was much appreciated -- especially the comfy bed and extra pillows. Too bad it was January as we had a private balcony. Still, we made use of it with a bottle of wine we brought with us. Lovely grounds. We didn't eat at the restaurant. The escalators to the city center are just around the corner. Parking is available at the city underground garage nearby and the hotel provides a discount,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

While the grounds and edifice were very nice, there was much left to be desired at the hotel. I'm never turned off by bad service in a restaurant, but when I am sleeping somewhere and paying a handsome sum to do so, the service should be at the very least, attentive. During our 2 night stay all of the front desk men where not only non-attentive, but rather crass and unwelcoming. I don't need someone to lay out a red carpet, but would it hurt to smile and be nice? PS While the inside of the room was well appointed and lavish, the claustrophobic view from the window was a wall and you can hear every sound from the next room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had an excellent stay at Hotel del Cardenal. My room was ready upon arrival in the late morning. The free wifi worked great and the bathroom was nice. The food at the restaurant was excellent and I received a discount on my meal since I was staying at the hotel. The only problem I had was that the lock mechanism in the door broke, so I had to wait about an hour for maintenance to fix the problem (The key would go in the door, but it would not unlatch the lock). Other than that, it was a great accommodation and it was nice to stay at a historic property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

WE had a really delicious meal here. My husband is mad about lamb and said it was the best ever. My steak was just perfect, and the cream/nutty desert was perfection.
It is in a lovely setting, I wish we had paid the extra and stayed here rather than in Santa Isabel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Cardenal

Address: Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal del Cardenal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hostal del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal del Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.