We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartment Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Martin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Martin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Martin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Espino, 6, 45003 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Toledo
American in Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Three of us stayed in one of the apartments at Hotel Martin and had a very pleasant experience. There were two single beds and a couch that pulled out into a bed. All were reasonably comfortable. The apartment did show some signs of wear and tear, but nothing that was made for an inconvenience or was severe enough to negatively impact our stay. The hotels are located in a building separate from the main hotel and (for what it's worth) are not handicapped accessible. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke sufficient English for conversation (none of us spoke Spanish). Breakfast is not cheap, but there is a good selection of meats, cheeses, and bread. We only chose breakfast on our last day as we had to hurry off to the airport. Overall a good stay.

Hotel is at the bottom of a hill and is located outside of the city walls (which has it's pluses and minuses). Overall, a VERY good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penysarn, Anglesey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Last year we visited Toledo on the way home by car from Andalucia. It is an astounding city for architecture, culture & history. At random we booked Hotel Martin and were not disappointed. The service and the friendliness we had from the young woman at reception was extremely helpful.
In the afternoon of Thursday 6th September 2012 we arrived again to use it as an overnight stop on our way down to Andalucia. The standard of service and helpfulness had been maintained very well. Getting us a taxi was no problem and advice on eating and visiting when we return for 3 nights towards the end of this month was freely available. We came away with details written on a map by the reception clerk. The staff providing breakfast were their usual welcoming selves and we went on our way suitably refreshed for our journey south. We thoroughly recommend this hotel as value for money.

Room Tip: Approach them in a friendly way and they will do their best to give a good room. We had to add a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Barely a 5 minute brisk walk from the Bisagra Gate entry into the Old City, the Hotel Martin offers a moderately-priced/quiet refuge while visiting this impressive UNESCO World Heritage-listed city.
The train station is an easy 10-15 minute walk away.....making it a practical option for arrival and departure, as well. Service was efficient and hospitable. General condition and cleanliness was practically top notch. Breakfast looked good, but, as usual, we opted for early starts and "fending for food" around town. Wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Martin again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The staff and owner of this hotel are obnoxious and unprofessional.

What started out at check in as a disagreement over a parking charge (that had not been made clear at the time of booking) led us into a catalog of unprofessional responses to questions. Being effectively given 'the run around' over where and how to park, being asked twice to move a locked and secured vehicle despite having been watched parking and a totally unwelcoming attitude from both reception and the owner.

In a combined thirty plus years of extended business and leisure travel we have NEVER felt the need to walk out of a hotel before even completing check in. Especially since we have now got a dispute over a no show charge!

The description of hotel location whilst technically accurate conveniently ignores a number of very important points also.

1, there is limited if any sensible street parking locally. What there is, amounts to short term paid 'ticket' parking.

2. the owners garage is their 'private car park' and is barely capable of holding three cars.

3. the hotel is located in what can only be described as a run down residential area, at the base of a VERY steep hill that must be negotiated in order to access Toledo old city some 15 mins walk away.

This hotel is not cheap for the locality and there are far better located, professional and welcoming hotels nearby, all with decent if limited access and parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel Martin is simply but tastefully decorated. Our room, though small, was clean, airy and light--white bedspreads, white tile floors, white stucco walls and rich pine woodwork. The flat-screen tv had three English channels. There was a bathtub. The desk clerk was charming and knowledgeable and recommended a convenient restaurant for our dinner, one we would not have found without her help. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track, but for us, that was a plus. It was quiet and uncrowded.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. We had a very warm greeting from the lady on reception who gave us lots of helpful information including a recommendation for a restaurant 'La Abbadia' which we visited twice and thoroughly enjoyed as it had a great atmosphere and served delicious food at an affordable price. (We recommend trying 'Perdiz' - Partridge which is a speciality of the area)

The hotel itself was quaint and light with no traffic noise. We found it cosy and friendly and we particularly enjoyed reading the interesting cultural magazines in the reception area.

The location was a little out of the main historical area but we wanted that for the quiet. It was only about 20 minutes walk anyway.

Our only slight disappointment was the breakfast which was very basic, croissants served in their plastic bag wrapping etc. As this is a budget hotel we didn't mind.

If you have a car, find out what the different coloured parking bays mean. I think there's orange, green and blue and this information will be very helpful as they are bays which are limited stay and times of the day when there is free parking.

It was easy to pull up and unload at the hotel as there are parking bays in front of it however it wasn't possible to park for free for a long period so we discovered an area opposite the coach station about 10 minutes walk away where people parked at their own risk. The receptionist told us know she thought it would be safe enough as there is very little car crime in the area.

Room Tip: First thing in the morning you could hear some noise from the reception so if you want to lay in I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was a bit worried after reading some reviews but booked this hotel anyway thinking it was only one night. It was good for the price, there were four of us and we got rooms 106 and 107, I believe. The rooms were a bit small, we could barely fit our luggage in, but it was clean and quaint with a little private patio outside our room. You need to call the front if you want the airconditioning turned up or down, we just slept with our windows open since it was cool outisde. The hill leading down is steep, but it's in a pretty good location. There's a nice little Chinese restaurant right up the hill as well as an ATM. All in all, if you're not demanding you could stay here one, maybe two nights, but I wouldnt stay longer than that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin

Address: Espino, 6, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Martin 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin Hotel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.