We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Isabel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Isabel, 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami FL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A bit hard to find with all the winding streets in Toledo but getting there is worth the trip. Very neat atrium. We were in room 216. Owner very helpful. Parking is available but the spots are small and the entrance is narrow. Rooms are clean and price is OK. Parking price not included.
Walking distance to the cathedral and all other parts of the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    258
    67
    13
    6
See reviews for
83
361
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis MD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in a double bedroom on May 13 for 55 euros (~$75). Check-in was efficient. The small room was on the first floor and very clean. The cathedral is just a short walk away, making it conveniently located. A taxi from the train station to get to the hotel will cost approximately 8 euros. I would return to this hotel if going to Toledo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed in Toledo for one night on a weekend in late April. Rates were very high - around 110 euros which influenced my sense of value. The hotel is difficult to find, if you are arriving from the train station, you need to take a taxi to get there. It is near the cathedral and about a 10 minute walk to the plaza. Also, if they call you a taxi to take you to the train station, the cab will already have the meter running, so it is better to pick one up in the plaza.

The desk clerks speak English. The furnishings are old and worn. No updates here. The bathrooms are small - they remind me of a cruise ship or a trailer. And you really need to bring your own toiletries. They have a limited amount of shampoos, liquid soap in the small packets you see in cheaper hotels. The room was quiet, and able to get dark. The location is in the old town (not the town below) and walking the town at night, is a beautiful experience.

For the price, it would have made more sense to stay in Madrid and take the train in and out, but you would miss the strolling in the evening. I can guarantee I won't stay here again.
BEWARE: Book your return train trip if you are traveling on the weekend. On Saturday, every return train trip was fully booked. You will have to take the bus if you don't plan ahead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Customer ,

Firstly sorry that your stay has not been welcome in our hotel , but I think you are wrong on several points of view regarding your comments respectoa stay at Hotel Santa Isabel Toledo .
In no time the price of our room for one night is 110 euros as you point out so I think you are completely wrong. The price of a basic double room Saturday night is 55 euros for bed VAT. The price is the one that tells you when you make the reservation so they can make the decision before booking to not come to the hotel if you think too expensive. With regard to the situation of the hotel , also you see it completely before making your reservation , since you chose a hotel in the old town , next to the Cathedral and the Plaza del Ayutamiento , so we are very centrally located close to all the sights of the city with the comfort that you can get to the door perfectly taxi was as well . But it also could have come by bus if I wanted to spend less money than the bus stop to the hotel is 7 minutes.
You chose basic double room which is cheaper but not less comfortable , the mattresses are new, comfortable and quality which is why we compliment our customers.
it...
The bathrooms are renovated in March 2014 and have been incorporated showers and bathtubs were removed, so see you not realized this detail. Also included enough bathroom accessories and renewed every day, the proof is that no client asks us more because they have enough. Thanks for taking the time to rate our hotel, it is always useful to us. I could also be that you were more comfortable in Madrid but had lost the wonderful pass made by Toledo.

Thank you for your attention.

Best regards.

Lourdes Menchero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a sweet place to stay. It is a charming little hotel with a lovely staff. You are minutes from the plaza. There is a wonderful rooftop to enjoy the sights. The breakfast was good with several cereals, eggs, toast and juice offered. I never turned on the tv so can't comment on that. It is a spot where you experience the ambiance of Toledo.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited Spain over Easter 2014. After visiting Madrid, Seville, Valencia and Granada, this was our favorite city and hotel. We stayed in room 215 that had an beautiful view from the balcony. The locals had several Easter processions to the cathedral and they walked right under our balcony. The best views are from room 213, 214 and 215. You can also go to the 3rd floor terrace for breath taking views of the cathedral and the city of Toledo.

The room and bathroom was adequate and the balcony perfect. The wooden shutters cut out ALL of the city noise and light, so were very helpful. We decided to extend our stay but had to move into room 106. This room was larger (sleeps 4) but the bathroom was extremely small and the shower would not accommodate anyone overweight! The staff was helpful and friendly. Parking sufficient and 12 Euros per night. Breakfast was an excellent value at only 5 Euros for a continental breakfast. Location was perfect.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again in room 213, 214 or 215, but would not stay in room 106. The bathroom is too small for comfort!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear customers,
Just want to thank you for your review and the time he has held them to rate our facilities. Your comments are of great help to other future clients, room 214 you mention is the greatest of all is the superior double overlooking the Cathedral has a balcony and a veranda, sofa .. 213 with a balcony very quiet square, and 215 with gazebo to the Convent of Santa Isabel are standard rooms. I feel I had to change rooms the 106 is in the other building, the decor is dintinta and corresponds to the basic rooms, this room is for two or three people with balcony to the Convent of Santa Isabel. They remodeled the bathrooms have a shower and now, if they are a little smaller. Thanks for opninar over the garage and breakfast is of value to us. We hope to see you at another hotel for our next visit. Yours sincerely.
Sincerely,

Lourdes Menchero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two night during the second week of March. We arrived at the train station and too a taxi to the hotel. The cost was 5 euros and took less then 10 minutes. The return trip was about the same (hotel called a taxi for us which arrived in about 5 minutes). If you take a taxi, it will take a route that is different from the buses that travel to Plaza Zocodover. It's probably about a 10 minute walk from the plaza to the hotel if you take the bus. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The room was small, but met our needs. It was the best hotel value we encountered on our trip. We had no problems with the WiFi. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I can't comment on breakfast because we didn't eat there. Its location was excellent. Most of the attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel is very pleasant and staff were always helpful. Breakfast choice was limited but even so we were offered freshly squeezed orange juice each morning and the food we received was very good.
Our room was large with view over the rooftops. Only downsides to our room were lack of lighting which made reading difficult and a complete lack of any English TV stations. Bathroom was well stocked with plenty of hot water always available, however some people might struggle with the half-bath in which you stand to shower.
Would stay again if on a return trip to Toledo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Address: Santa Isabel, 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.