We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Isabel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Isabel, 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel has great views of the cathedral and is very clean. The roof-top deck is the perfect place to enjoy some rioja with great views of toledo. One of the better hotels I have been to anywhere. The hotel has a very authentic feel to it, as everything looks very old/traditional spanish style.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    257
    67
    13
    6
See reviews for
83
360
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is within a few minutes of restaurants and shopping. The Alcazar, the cathedral are very close and in another direction is the Jewish quarter, museums and more restaurants.

The hotel is nicely decorated but our room was a bit small. We were there for two nights so it didn't bother us. Furniture and fixtures are modern and the room was well maintained. We had a window to the street but were not bothered by noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel Santa Isabel's a great place to stay: comfortable rooms, many nicely converted in the original old part of the hotel and with all mod cons as well as the old beams high up in the ceilings, good beds, views out towards the cathedral or down the narrow streets of the old town, only 200m from the cathedral itself, with some parking in the basement. Staff are helpful, breakfasts are good, the hotel's clearly really popular with Spanish visitors as well as foreigners (always a good sign), and there's a small roof terrace with great views over the old town. We booked a room with a small balcony, which was a plus - right over the front door - but no street noise. Another plus - the hotel's only 200m too from the top-rated restaurant in Toledo - Alqahira - which is a Middle Eastern treat in itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, a balcony if possible, and if you like a bit of character ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a taxi ride that was less than 8 euros from the train station we arrived to a perfectly clean room that exceeded our expectations. We stayed here for 3 days, the first 2 nights we enjoyed the Toledo skyline on the roof or terrace where there are 2 tables for picnicking or whatever. The interior of the hotel has a nice character, decorated with unusual care for a 2 star hotel.
I would have given 5 stars but we had a problem with our breakfast charges--we were overcharged for the last 2 days. You can get a small breakfast or a more comprehensive breakfast and the waitress just asks for your room #. I believe that she mixed our order with another room#. I would like to think that it was an honest mistake, but we had no reasonable recourse but to pay and later we rationalized it by thinking that if the hotel had charge an extra 6 euros originally we would have stayed here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, OR.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was perhaps the most visually appealing hotel of our trip to Spain. Being a finish carpenter, I loved all of the details that were incorporated into the restoration of this building. Our room had some of the original hand hewn beams in the exposed ceiling with small crests painted on them. It was appointed with beautiful hardwood floors which I am not used to seeing in rooms at this price point. The hotel features in enclosed interior courtyard that was once open to the elements, but now is a gorgeous interior space. It makes quite an impression when first arriving. Our room was small and rather dark with only one small window in the living area, but the price was right at less that 50 euros. Some of the darkness was undoubtedly due to the fact that it rained most of the 3 days we were there and was overcast the entire time. Being from the Willamette Valley of Oregon where it rains close to 50 inches (127 cm) we were undetered by the rain and found it a blessing of sorts as it kept away most of the day trippers that flood the city each day. The down side was that we never really had a chance to enjoy the splendid rooftop terrace which was the main reason for booking this hotel. As others have said, it is a short 3-4 minute walk to the cathedral and most of the upper, old part of the city is within easy walking distance with mutiple sites to see and places to eat. There is an elevator which makes life with luggage much easier, too. I can see revisiting Toledo in the future and gladly staying at Hostal Santa Isabel again. To future visitors: if you are on one of the upper floors, please do not spend hours walking around in your room with hard heeled shoes. It makes life quite noisy for those in the rooms on the floor down from you. I think the floors must be thin or have no insulation in them. The person above us took exactly 7 steps to get to and from wherever he or she was going in the room. It sounded like someone was hitting the floor with a hammer! Thanks for your consideration.

Room Tip: It would have been nice to know how to turn the lights on when we opened the door. It took a while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is hotel is centrally positioned, more than basic, very clean and exceptionally reasonably priced. As other reviews, visit the solarium for good city panoramas, especially dawn and dusk. Just a stones throw from the Cathedral and within walking distance of everything, plenty of bars and restaurants nearbye. It's well worth booking the car park, 10 euro / night, but beware Spanish cities have extremely narrow roads, I only just managed with a Focus, the ramps to the underground parking are pretty severe, however I would have dreaded parking in the new areas of Toledo and trying to find the hotel in the maze of streets. My sat nav failed to find the hotel by postcode or Calle Santa Isabel but just Santa Isabel took me straight there. Breakfast at the hotel was 5 euro, can't comment didn't try it, there's no bar or restaurant except for breakfast.Do the city tour, well worth it especially the views of the city from across the river. On the back to the coast I visited Congruesa about 30 km, what a brilliant place, just put name in sat nav.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Gets the job done. The location can't be beat. Don't look for concierge service, but the staff is friendly and efficient. The breakfast is simple but good enough, and don't miss the fresh-squeezed orange juice. And for me the bonus was the little roof-top terrace - great perspective of Toledo, especially the cathedral, great place to be for sunrise or sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Address: Santa Isabel, 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.