We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Isabel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Isabel, 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value, good area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very nice hotel, very beautiful view from the top terrace. Located close to the center of the town. Very nice place to wonder in the evening. The tiny streets are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    241
    61
    12
    4
See reviews for
77
331
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at this sweet hotel in Toledo and enjoyed it immensely. Clean and comfortable rooms, albeit not fancy, welcoming and helpful staff (especially David) an amazing rooftop terrace view ( where we set a table and enjoyed a lovely wine, cheese, & fruit repaste), and convenient location while being very quiet. We would absolutely return! It was a bit challenging to make the reservation due to language issues, but well worth it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Arriving by train in Toledo it is uphill to the city. Even taking the bus there is still a good walk on uneven streets to the hotel, so you may want to consider a taxi. Hotel Santa Isabel is located on a quiet street close to the cathedral. Its location lends well to anywhere you want to walk.

The single room had plenty of space, including a single bed, desk, closet, table, and suitcase rack. The room and bathroom were clean.

I was glad I spent the night in Toledo instead of a day trip. When all the crowds disappear, it becomes a different city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and we can't say enough good things about it. First, there is the price. For what we paid, we were not expecting much. What we did get was a place with a superb location (convenient to the Cathedral, Plaza Zocodover and the can't-miss Jewish Quarter), the right kind of rustic ambiance for Toledo, and an immaculate room with a modern bathroom and view of the Cathedral and Alcazar. What we loved most was the combination of a very old and historic building that has beautiful shining marble hallways and baths. We slept so well because the room was very quiet and the curtains allowed no light at all. The balcony in our room was icing on the cake. This was one of 4 hotels in which we stayed during our travels in Spain and it was by far the most outstanding value. We would not hesitate to stay again or to recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Arriving by train we took a taxi for 7 euros as advised by other reviewers. The streets to get there are steep cobbled and very narrow, not good for the wheels of cases. This restored hotel is quaint. Our room was very cheap so we were not expecting anything grand so was not surprised to to find our room overlooking the inner courtyard, very compact with little room to put a second case and a bathroom that was very small.

However the room has everything one needs, is very clean, the beds comfy, the shower great so no complaints and value for the money outlayed. We did partake the breakfast and selected the E5 option (fresh orange juice, coffee, toast, fruit) which was good, served with a smile (given our lack of Spanish) in a nice dining room.

The central location was wonderful being so close to the cathedral and a short walk to the central plaza. I would recommend this hotel to the budget traveller - but reading reviews maybe if we had paid additional money we would have had a bigger room and therefore a different experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel is located right inside the walled city. It has charm but our room was located next to the elevator in the lobby with a window to the street. It was noisy. The staff was unwilling to change the room because they said that was what booking.com reserved and the hotel was full. A group checked in after us so rooms were unoccupied when we checked in. The shower in the bathroom managed to wet the entire bathroom floor so I imagine the stripping under the shower door wasn't working. I would not stay again because there is no guarantee we wouldn't get this room again. Our friends were on the second floor and they had good views and quiet to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Ms,
Thank you for contacting us. I would like to inform you that on the dates you were in the hotel was full and could not change room, when you made ​​the reservation through booking.com is the availability that we had free time. Our system is working whenever we have spare room, if the customer requires changing room and I think that first of all is the comfort and above all his descando at the hotel. Not all rooms are allocated on the same floor of your group and we did not have enough. I feel I have not been comfortable in the hotel. Thank you for your attention.
Best regards.

Maria Lourdes Menchero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel, well located close to the cathedral in the centre of the old town of Toledo. Parking is available (at a cost) but it is VERY tricky driving to get there. Be WARY of the narrow streets!! The best thing about the hotel is the superb rooftop terrace with views of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top-great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Address: Santa Isabel, 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.