We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of my trip to Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Toledo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Toledo to your Saves list
Parador de Toledo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerro del Emperador, s/n, 45002 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The highlight of my trip to Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Toledo and the Parador provided the highlight of my trip to Spain ….pity the pool wasn't open ..the panoramic views over toledo both day and night were spectacular ……the terrace bistro provided wonderful food in a stunning setting …the restaurant service was exceptional and even though I had read others were critical of the food I found it very enjoyable and I have enjoyed food around the world ….breakfast was very varied ..the staff very helpful at a busy time

Room Tip: Rooms with views overlooking Toledo at the front would be special but my room overlooking the pool h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    201
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
112
296
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights this June. Traveling from Madrid with friends. The view of Toledo can't be beaten. Make sure you pay extra for a room with a view of the town. Despite it being 35 degrees the pool was not officially open so we had to traipse up to reception or our room for the loo. Bit dull. The restaurant food is good but there is no atmosphere despite the amazing view of Toledo. Full lighting doesn't help. Having said that if you are going to Toledo and don't mind paying 10-12 euros for a taxi into town I think it's the best option. Large bedroom and bathroom and overall good value for money. Just don't expect a boutique hotel welcome or any personality.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stopped here for afternoon tea and sat on the rear terrace. From here the elevated view across to Toledo are stunning. Service, tea and value was very good. I expected it to be much more expensive given the location. The incredible view is of course free!

There is plenty of parking for guests which is a bonus given its close proximity to such a busy tourist destination.

The hotel is a beautiful building and its a very peaceful spot to enjoy the view of Toledo, away from the crowds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The view of Toledo from the terrace is not to be missed! At only 2 euros 50 for a coffee its excellent value! Service wasn't brilliant, but it was busy and they seemed quite stretched. I'd thoroughly recommend a trip here if you have a car (it's a way out of town)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful rooms that were well appointed, lots of parking and fast check-in. The view over Toledo cannot be highly enough rated, we grabbed a bottle of red from town and watched night set over it. The bar annoyingly stops serving food from 3pm until dinner, not even snacks can be obtained! It is outside of town but cabs were easy to find and had us home to the Parador in a few minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We (my husband, father and I) stayed in this four star Parador hotel on the outskirts of Toledo for 1 night in May 2014. There is parking outside the hotel, and also across the road under corrugated roofs.

Check in was efficient and very friendly, and we had a porter to help us with our luggage.

We had paid a little extra to have a room for 3 people with a balcony overlooking the old city of Toledo (as opposed to a room overlookng the pool, and the view was fabulous.

The room was a good size with a double bed and a single "put you up" bed. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space and the balcony was more than big enough for 3 people, though there were only 2 chairs on the balcony plus a table, so we just moved a chair from inside the room on to the balcony.

Our room was on the 4th floor (the top floor), and was over the outside terrace bar, but with the windows closed we could not hear any noise from the guests outside. The sound insulation was excellent and we also did not hear any noise from other guests, which was amazing as the hotel was very busy.

The bathroom was a good size with an over-bath shower, a bidet, toilet, sinks, a good range of toiletries and a dryer, though I did not use the dryer as I always travel with my own.

We dined in the restaurant in the evening, and the meal was delicious with excellent service and good wines, and a good selection of food to choose from.

Breakfast the next morning (in the same restaurant) was also very good, with a good selection of fresh fruit juices, cereals, breads, cakes, croissants, cold meats and cheeses, fresh sliced fruits, yoghurts, hot bacon, sausages, eggs, tomatoes, and the staff kept the servery well stocked.

There is a swimming pool, but unfortunately it does not open until June/July as apparently the water was too cold, although we would have loved to have had a swim. It looked very clean and well kept.

Check out was also very efficient and friendly, and the bill was very reasonable. We would have liked to have stayed longer. The hotel is only a short drive from Toledo (I would suggest parking in the Vincci San Miguel car park which has a lift and stairs to just outside the Alcazar and a short walk to Zocodover Square.

I would thoroughly recommend this Parador for couples, families, groups, friends and business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view over old Toledo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

In a way I feel a bit churlish only awarding this hotel 3 stars, as with a couple of exceptions it was very good.
Check-in was courteous and efficient. Room was a good size. Breakfast, a buffet, was excellent.
Dinner in the dining room was good, but without being outstanding.
Location wise there are plus's and minus's.
On the positive side, the hotel has the most spectacular view of the old town of Toledo, just across the valley. Really is a view to die for. However the negative is you have to get around the valley to get into the town, its about a 2-3 mile walk, and very steep on the way back. There is an hourly bus service (€1-40 single) from near the hotel to the centre, goes about on the hour, which is usefull though.
I have 2 main gripes. For some reason the pool does not open until 16th June. Returning from a day in Toledo mid May, temp about 30C, a couple of early evening hours by the pool before dinner would have been heaven, but no, its closed. Think it must be a function of being state owned with the public sector mentality. I am sure that a private sector hotel would maximise, what should be a tremendous asset.
The second was the bathroom. The idiot who installed the shower screen installed it so that it closes against the OUTSIDE lip of the bath. A 5 year old could see that the water would just flow down the screen and cover the floor, rather than defying gravity and climbing over the lip into the bath! (Room 101).
Enjoyed the stay, but I think if I was staying in Toledo again, I would try for an hotel in the town, although I might well pop up for cocktails to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: If you can get a 4th floor room facing the town, you will get an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Toledo

Address: Cerro del Emperador, s/n, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Toledo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Toledo 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Toledo Hotel Toledo
Parador De Hotel Toledo
Toledo Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Toledo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.