We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, room with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlos V Hotel to your Saves list
Carlos V Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Horno Magdalena No 4, 45001 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, room with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel located in the upper part of the city. We stayed one night, and had a nice, clean, modern room with a great view overlooking the city. The room was a bit small, but if you want large rooms, don't go to Europe. There was a wonderful, ample buffet breakfast served in a lovely breakfast room. Parking in Toledo can be difficult, but there are several parking lots. If you stay in one of the designated parking lots, you will get a discount (we paid 14.50 euros for the night, instead of 19.50).

Room Tip: Take a room on a floor higher up for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    187
    83
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
230
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

One night, 75€, the double bed the size of pack of cards, incredibly noisy right outside the lifts and lovely to hear the water rushing into the hotel with every shower and flush of the toilet from every guest! Location good but that's it I'm afraid!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just left the Carlos V in Toledo. Our rooms were exceptionally clean. If you get a premium room you are on 3rd or 4th floors. I would recommend that over regular rooms. I would not have wanted a room opposite the elevators or on the corridors...too noisy. We had end rooms near the stairs and away from the elevators. Even then, you heard a bit of noise. But honestly, for the price, I don't think you can beat the hotel. Great breakfast served as part of the hotel price and the restaurant is lovely. The restaurant is kept clean and food always looks appettizing. Waiters helpful and attentive even tho it is a buffet breakfast. Also, hotel was not very easy to find even tho they gave us a map. If you drive look for parking San Miguel or Alcazar . Parking was 19 euros.. definitely don't try to drive in Toledo or at least stay on only large streets. Our GPS kept telling us to turn left, turn right, etc. We got stuck in a pedestrian area...took 45 min to back out. Our GPS did not know that the streets were too narrow to drive on....staying in town center is good.

Room Tip: Choose the premium room. also, they are not as large as the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Carlos V in late December. The hotel is located in the heart of Toledo, not too far from the Plaza de Zocodover. We parked at Coradillo de San Miguel which is on the edge of town and easy to get to. The cost was 14 euros per night. The Carlos V had an excellent breakfast with a lot of options. From the hotel you can easily walk to all of the sites of Toledo. We had a triple room and there was plenty of space for the three of us. We didn't have much of a view from our room, just the back of another building. Check in and check out were easy although the attendant at the hotel desk was not very personable. Toledo is a beautiful, old city and I recommend a stay at the Carlos V.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina, Greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at hotel Carlos V while visiting Toledo last month.

The staff were extremely helpful and got in touch with us beforehand in order to help us find a parking space nearby. Car access to the hotel is limited to residents and taxis so we had to park at the Alcazar parking and walk down - about 100m.

Our room had a magnificent view over Toledo and we could really not have asked for more!

Breakfast was ok - do not expect full English but merely cold cuts - but the restaurant decoration paid off for it! You have to see it to understand what I am talking about!

All the major attractions of the maze - like Toledo are within walking distance!

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Please do ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a long day of travel we rented a car at the Madrid airport and had a harroing ride to the Carlos V Hotel in Toledo. We had heard that the staff was cool but what I determined was they were reserved (as they should be). Please remember, this is not an "all inclusive Caribean resort", it is an inner city hotel that caters to vacationers and businessmen alike. I found them helpful and open once they knew what I wanted. The accomodations were a little on the tight side but when you look at the age of the building, it's understandable. The room was very clean and that means alot to me. We found you can't have the window open at night due to the locals who evidently do not have to get up for work the next morning. They talked loadly untill the trash collectors relieved them around six a.m.The hotel is about a 2 min. walk to the plaza which was full of restaraunts and shops, we had such a good time we stayed an extra day. If you plan on driving please note that the old part of the city (where we stayed ) has very, very narrow streets and parking is at a premium. We parked at a parking garage about two blocks away, we parked and walked everyhwere.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed you need to specify that up front and reiterate that at checkin. The Spanis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel two days just after New year 2013. Hotel has Ideal location - 100 metres from Alcasar and 300 metres from Cathedral (walking route is a bit longer of course). Fantastic view on Toledo from hotel terrace - one of the best. It is well known that parking in Toledo is difficult - locations are few and price around 2 eur per hour. Free parking is outside from the old city. Hotel has agreement with parking near Alcasar -13 eur per day. Staff is competent and friendly, with good knowledge of English. Price is quite good for the hotel of such quality. Nice breakfast is served in the very impressive basement restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for room with windows to Alcasar or Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Address: Plaza Horno Magdalena No 4, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#11 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos V Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos V Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.