We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maria Cristina to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Cristina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques De Mendigorria 1, 45003 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located a few minutes walk to the walled city of Toledo, the Maria Cristina is a traditional Spanish hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food delicious. We had two attic rooms which were hot, at it was 36 degrees outside, but aircon great. The walled city is a must to go and see.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    80
    41
    16
    4
See reviews for
22
98
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my family of 5 in late December. Excellent value (50 Euro per room). Comfortable beds, pillows and large, clean rooms. Bathrooms have nice, big towels. Easy access from autoroute, ample parking and short walk to old city. Also, the place actually has some kitschy "man-of-la-Mancha" charm to it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Good location 15 min from old town (walking) just next to the bull ring so easy to find excellent parking outside and underground. The hotel has hints of old Spain with the terracotta floor tiles and old wooden doors. But the hotel is spotless through out. The reception were very helpful and everything we asked they were able to answer. Good English spoken here. There are restaurants all around and plenty of choice. A small convenience store is opposite so handy for room nibbles and drinks. A very pleasant stay thank you every one :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The old town of Toledo is a must do visit and although this 3 star hotel isn't fancy and isn't inside the old town walls it's within walking distance, is well priced, with some Spanish character as well, all in all a good stopover for sightseeing. We had a large room for me, my partner and teenage son for just 52 euro, including a balcony (but no interesting view) and mini bar with a couple of beers. Genuine Spanish style in the floor tiling and dark wood joinery and all very clean and airy. As other reviewers mention, there is secure parking as an extra but you can park overnight for free off the main road at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was indifferent but OK and seemed typical of what most mid range hotels and cafes seemed to be offering. Also best to find a proper restaurant for dinner, For value in a short stay hotel this was the best hotel in our west to east coast Spanish trip and no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was chosen based upon location and facilities (private car park and free WiFi). Possibly could have been closer to the old town - but it was not a big problem. The hotel is charmingly old-fashioned, but we booked an attic room on the third floor which caused a few head bangs and curses. Our fault, but definitely it should not be offered for a price only marginally lower than other, normal rooms. Good breakfasts, nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We wanted a hotel hat had a private car park but with easy access to Toledo, this was perfect. It is easy to find from the A4 motorway.Our first room was on the corner and we had no wifi signal but the staff were very helpful and moved us to a room where the signal was good. First night we ate in the hotel, only do this for convenience as the food is not good, expensive and all microwaved. Breakfast was good and overall our stay was very pleasant. An easy walk into the centre or you can catch one of the many buses that stop just up the road to the hotel.Clean bedroom and bathroom. All staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke good english.

Room Tip: If you need wifi ask to be near to the stairs, but if you dont the corner rooms are large and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We'd rather of found a hotel nearer the main old town so with little time available we had more walking than we wanted in the heat. Its location on a busy main road was a negative. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was deadly - no other diners and a restriced menu. The breakfast in the 'cafe' area was fine. The hotel is probably OK for business travellers but we'd rather of found somewhere more suited to tourists wanting to be close to the main sites of the old town.

BUT note - next door was the Hospital De San Juan Bautista - a great place; we had a personnal guided tour - facinating - see photo.

Room Tip: There may be an option to not face onto the main road - if so, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina

Address: Marques De Mendigorria 1, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of this building goes back to the XV century, epoch in which the Hospital de San Lazaro was founded and where the beautiful Abside remains, later, in 1880, the building was converted into an orphanage. The hotel took its name from Queen Maria Cristina who lived in it for a while.Located next to the Tavera Museum and the Puerta de Bisagra, Maria Cristina Hotel is at the entrance to the city of Toledo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Toledo
Maria Cristina Hotel Toledo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.