We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run restaurant with decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Hierbabuena

Restaurante Hierbabuena
Carretera de Circunvalacion 1, 45004 Toledo, Spain
+34(925)223924
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Hierbabuena is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 248 restaurants in Toledo
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Mint Restaurant, located on the banks of the Tagus river, has a large dining room with splendid views of the valley of Toledo.Excellent food market with a dedicated staff care makes this site an ideal location for any celebration.We also have a "Gastrobar" where besides tasting our delicious tapas also enjoy on the terrace of an elaborate cocktail.
east midlands
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Well-run restaurant with decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday evening attracted by its proximity to the Parador where we were staying and being unwilling to face trekking around the old town. This is a spacious place with picture windows offering a view down the hill. It makes the dining area light and airy. The restaurant was busy but the very professional staff coped admirably to the point where they came close to being over-attentive. We were coming to the end of almost two weeks of Spanish restaurants and I think we were jaded so we wrestled with the menu and settled for tried and tested options. The result was well prepared food which met our needs. Gazpacho soup served with crispy ham rather than chopped veg was fine and my stuffed squid, despite the distance from the sea, was probably the stand-out item.

There is apparently a second area specialising in tapas and I can see how the location outside the city might make that a useful stopping-off point. The restaurant has a small parking area which wasn't full when we were there and is easily accessible by car. If you want to avoid some of the difficulties of getting into and around the old city and particularly if you are in a nearby hotel this is certainly worth considering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    30
    34
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tapas with view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the lovely Cigarel de Caravantes across the river, away from the hustle of the old city. Their restaurant was closed that night and they recommended Hierbabuena, just 200m down the road. Couldn't eat until 9:30pm this Sunday night but he tapas were worth the wait. View a Ross the gorge from the terrace - nice for a relaxing drink. Taking advice from our host, we ordered 4 tapas - very adequate for 2 people. The tapas servings are quite large for this style of food. Excellent quality. Their restaurant proper was closed but I'm sure it would be a high quality dining experience based on their tapas menu. Highly recommend if you want to escape the tourist food of old city Toledo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant near the AC Marriott Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am reviewing the restaurant located on Carretera de Circunvalacion outside the wall. The website shows the address as callejon San Jose, 17. I suppose they either moved or have a second location. Restaurante Heirbabuena shows on the sample menu they gave us.

My wife and I dropped in for lunch. We were asked if we had a reservation, we said no. No problem, we were seated immediately. We were first given their regular menu. The waiter then brought us their daily special menu which included a small appetizer tray; three choices of a vegetable or salad course; three choices of a meat entree and three choices of dessert. Wine or water was included all for 20.00 euros each. The waiter was very helpful translating the menu item to English.

The presentation, quality and taste of the food was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive throughout the meal. Our lunch ended up being one of the highlights of our two week vacation in Spain

The restaurant is easy to locate outside the wall and there is free parking in front. It's an easy walk from the AC Marriott Hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great place for tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Restaurante Hierbabuena is a nice option for people whose hotel is outside the walls of Toledo. It has a cool, modern ambience, attentive (but a bit slow) staff, and a changing board of really excellent and LARGE tapas that eliminate the need for any dinner!

The bar downstairs has Maker´s Mark bourbon -- unique in Toledo!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Hierbabuena also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Restaurante Hierbabuena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Hierbabuena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.