We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem where locals dine and wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante LOCUM

Restaurante LOCUM
C/ Locum n. 6, 45001 Toledo, Spain
925.22.32.35
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 290 Restaurants in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nyon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem where locals dine and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Toledo is one of the top choices for day trips from Madrid, so it is not surprising the town is full with low cost meals for budget travelers. However, if you want to treat yourself with a relaxed meal, Locum is the place to go. It is hidden in a quiet street without a giant menu with pictures.

The entrance level is the reception area, bar and the kitchen. You will be seated either on the 2nd floor or the 3rd floor of an old building that looks like a clock tower. Charming.

I enjoyed the tasting menu and ordered two glasses or house red. The appetizers are well-done and tasty. They are based on traditional Spanish food with an interesting presentation. However, the fish course (cod) and the mean course (suckling pig) are under seasoned, and quite boring on the taste and texture.

If I return to this place, I would probably just order all their appetizers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    62
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Interesting variations on traditional Spanish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were guests at a tapas luncheon catered by Locum and were so impressed we booked in at the restaurant for dinner. We had no regrets. The food was innovative and inventive, each dish an interesting variation on traditional approaches to Spanish food. Presentation and cooking were excellent, the wait staff were well informed and most helpful and though more expensive than basic local restaurants it was worth every euro. There was a terrific wine list too (I must say that Spanish wines were a revelation throughout our trip) and the waiters made sound recommendations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal, would return. Elegant surrounding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Second best meal we had in toledo. High quality of food. Marzipan cake with cheese was the single best thing we ate
As with other places, the surprise menu is excellent value as long as you aren't a picky eater. Amazing wine for low prices as with most restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Try the 'menú degustación'. We had this 7 course menu as Spanish lunch and it was in one word magnificent! Be sure to make a reservation as the place can fill up quickly...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good creative cuisine, but no more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

To be honest I would say 7 / 10 points.
Excelent starters and first dishes, completely satisfied. Some of the main courses were not 100% perfect. The fish was wonderful, fresh and superb quality, the meat, and the vegetables, the temperature of serving... al ok, but we couldn`t understand some of the mixtures or combinations of flavours.
Small portions as logical, you are not going to this place for a giant meal.
Good deserts.
Excelent recomendations and normal serving, with some mistakes for a high level place (maybe the lack of space in our big table made the waiter impossible to aproach all of us serving properly, dishes should not be crossing over the head of guests, dont hurry with unfinished starters).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante LOCUM also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Restaurante LOCUM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante LOCUM, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.