We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base for Toledo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Hostal Puerta Bisagra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Hostal Puerta Bisagra to your Saves list
El Hostal Puerta Bisagra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Callejon del Potro, 5 | Frente a la Puerta de Bisagra, 45003 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Base for Toledo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very Spanish hotel which some may consider a bit basic but it provides everything you need for a few nights' stay in Toledo. It's right by the Bisagra gate which means a bit of a haul up the hill into town but you can get anywhere within the heart of Toledo within 20 minutes' walk. The hotel is very clean and offers a superb breakfast. Rooms are smallish and the walls are thin but what do expect at this very reasonable price? I stayed for 3 nights and would definitely suggest it to anyone on a budget. Just take some good walking shoes. And Toledo is full of interesting places to eat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well positioned hostal just on the edge of the old town and right next to the Puerta Bisagra. Second time we've stayed there in the last 4 months and find the place clean and, with breakfast included, good value.
The staff are particularly helpful and friendly. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the Bisagra gate which whilst it was picturesque was probably a little too no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madremanya, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

All is fine in this hostel but there was two things I want to explain. First, we reserve a double bed room and they give us a twin bed room... the hostel was full and we can not get the change. Second, they control the rooms temperature... so you have to tell them what you want. Otherwise, the Breakfast was huge and with different dishes, and you can arrive to the train station walking, if the day is not too much hot!

Room Tip: Tell them to confirm you what kind of room you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iosebah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Fine, clean hostel with smallish rooms with air conditioning. Prices very reasonable. Staff is pleasant. Very easy to find unlike other places in the old town. Very convenient if you have a car as parking is nearby. Have a bit of an uphill hike to visit the historic center, but nothing is too far away. Breakfast would be improved if eggs made available.

Room Tip: At the back off the street are quiet with leafy trees near the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayyidaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nicely renovated, good ambience, very helpful staff, ample breakfast in room with historical interest. We only stayed two nights, although a couple more seemed warranted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peppernc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I would have liked to have given this Hostal 5 points but as mentioned by so many other reviewers the rooms are definitely small. The weather was sweltering when we stayed here - 40 degrees - so you tended to notice the size of the room even more as you struggled to find space to breath!
However the price was fantastic and the rooms spotless. The hostal is in a fabulous location and I recommend a visit to the park nearby in an evening as one bar does an outside barbeque and the food is fabulous and very reasonably priced, it is a must, especially if you have children. Beware if you drive Toldeo is not car friendly BUT the receptionist told us to park our car at the bus station car park about 10 - 15 mins walk away and it is free and secure.
We took breakfast at the hotel and it was well worth the price of 5 euros great choice and nice ambience. Toledo is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Greeted by very friendly young woman at check in. We had booked by phone from Cordoba. The price was reasonable around E 55-60 per night. The room was smallish but had full private bathroom, tv. Well located just inside old city wall. Breakfast was expensive at E 5.95 and there are many cafes offering breakfast nearby and in the centre of the old town. They have washing facilities for E2 a huge boon when you are traveling in Spain and coin laundry is very difficult to find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hesperia Toledo
Hesperia Toledo
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Bastida
Hotel La Bastida
#8 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo by Marriott
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#22 of 45 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal Puerta Bisagra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal Puerta Bisagra

Address: Callejon del Potro, 5 | Frente a la Puerta de Bisagra, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — El Hostal Puerta Bisagra 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house with wireless internet access has been built around a typical courtyard Toledo. Enjoys an excellent location in the historic center of Toledo, next to the door hinge.The cafe door hinge Hostel has glass floors and a skylight. This is a space with natural light.All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, TV, heating and air conditioning. Each presents a unique and exclusive.Door Hinge Hostal has 24 hour reception. Every morning a breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Hostal Puerta Bisagra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing