We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful intimate restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Orza

La Orza
Calle de Descalzos 5, 45002 Toledo, Spain
+34 925 223 011‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 262 Restaurants in Toledo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New City, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful intimate restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our guide (a local) recommended this place to us as her favorite and we were not disappointed. It is a small place, but in good weather has tables available outside as well. Since we had reservations we had a perfect spot inside.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and they had a nice choice of local wines at reasonable prices.

There were also families in the restaurant and everyone seemed to have a good time. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice place with great food.

The only minor complaint is that they had a very difficult time with credit cards - they supposedly took AmEx but it didn't work, neither did either of my Visa cards (kept asking for a pin and not accepting it). The only one that worked was a mastercard and they required a PIN. Didn't have this problem anywhere else in Spain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    173
    52
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very pleasant - service very good returned 3 times in 1 week
Very good menu - especially the menu of the day which was very good value

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A restaurant find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We sat outside on a little patio for lunch and enjoyed a delicious meal. Pricier than other choices in Toledo, but worth going to for the fine cuisine and excellent service. Complimentary after-lunch liqueur (a local specialty) was incredible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm still thinking about the meal we had here... My wife got the €25 prix-fixe menu (a delightful tomato-based soup with jamón and eggs that was smoky and velvety, a fall-off-the-bone stewed partridge on perfectly cooked short-grain rice and a fantastic almond custard dessert) and I got the roast venison loin with apples and potatoes. This is world-class food, and we'd have paid 4 times more for similar quality in San Francisco.

Service was attentive and polite without being in the least bit stuffy. The house wine they poured (Florentine?) was top-notch - a peppery Rioja that was just lovely.

Our bill came to €50. I've spent that in the U.S. for mediocre lunches at airports.

One tip: it seems that you don't need a reservation if you're eating outside (there are 3 or 4 tables, first-come, first served), but otherwise, you do. Don't miss this place - have your hotel call ahead before you go.

Meson de la Orza gets my highest possible recommendation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious, cozy, friendly - a highlight of our trip to Toledo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stumbled across this beautiful little restaurant after a very long day wandering through the narrow, confusing (unfriendly) streets of Toledo.

The maitre d (owner?) was charming, warm and happy to have us there (even without a reservation - It was a Sunday or Monday evening).

The place was beautiful, charming and has a wonderfully firendly atmosphere. The food was DELICIOUS and BEAUTIFULLY presented. We all ooh-ed and ahh-ed over each other's plates and had a lovely, leisurely dinner complete with appetizers, wine, dessert.

I'm sure the prices are relatively high - it was an elegant little place but if you want a special, romantic and delicious meal in Toledo, this is the place for you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Orza also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to La Orza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Orza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.