We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant seafood and excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Marucho

Bar Marucho
Calle Tetuan, 21, 39004 Santander, Spain
+34 942273007
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 350 restaurants in Santander
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brillant seafood and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have arrived early on All Saint Day for lunch. The Bar meant to open at 12 noon and the restaurant from 1pm but we were welcomed by the owner at the bar. The seafood was really good and service was excellent, especially our two young children had a great time too. The dessert was also excellent, something we didn't expect from a seafood restaurant.

We have been to many seafood restaurants around the region and overseas but this restaurant is clearly one of the best, so good that we have visited second time before leaving Santander.

Apart from local street parking, there is also a large underground car park opposite the restaurant which makes very easy to get to the restaurant in Santander.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    112
    71
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fish and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived in this small restaurant just before the evening rush. The waitress was wonderful, busy and attentive. The wine selection was superb and she was very helpful in suggesting a rose that went well with our fish. The atmosphere was like a large family party, with families and couples mingling happily with a few tourists. When the waitress came in the front door with a live, wiggling lobster we were confirmed that the fish is fresh. The waitress clearly indicated which fish was available and the fish and prawns were finger-licking wonderful. When I am back in Santander I will definitely come back to Bar Marucho.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, E.Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Basic Bar but Excellent Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ate here a couple of times during our holiday and found it busy, noisy, crowded but full of atmosphere. The restaurant is slightly away from the main restaurant area and beloved by locals.
Being English we can only compare with it with our local fish restaurants at home and this place knocked spots off anywhere in England we have eaten seafood . There is a large selection of marine foods, all at reasonable cost. I had excellent grilled langostinos and my wife enjoyed
a nice fresh Sea Bass. Service is very quick and efficient and table turnover equally quick. Dont go there if you expect smart sophisticated long drawn out meals but do go there for true Spanish atmosphere and great seafood.
By the way it's not open Tuesday and Wednesday evenings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeilaart
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good seafood, not so good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The seafood was absolutely fresh and of high quality. Whether you will have shellfish or fresh fish it will be good and well prepared. No doubt about that. The presentation on the plate is simple and direct, but that is very acceptable in this kind of restaurant.
However the service given needs a lot of improvement. The place is very small and therefore the tables are very very close to each other. So to speak you are like herrings in a barrel, you get claustrophobic. This gives a bit of an uncomfortable feeling. Moreover probably the size of the restaurant makes it necessary that you eat at a certain speed and clear the table asap. So that every table can have as much turns as is possible. Coffees and digestives are not served on the table but can be enjoyed at the bar, that is from time to time as packed as the restaurant is. The waitress nearly forces you to have your order within minutes upon arrival. All in all, notwithstanding the quality of the food, we didn't have a good dining experience. A pity!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Marucho also viewed

Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 
Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 

Been to Bar Marucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Marucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.