We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a visit back in time....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hotel Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Hotel Real to your Saves list
Eurostars Hotel Real
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Like a visit back in time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I know some guests complained about the old carpets and furniture but, in my view, that is part of its charm! I found nothing dusy or dirty.....but the entire hotel felt like Gatsby could walk around the corner at any minute! Chandeliers, wrought iron, glass elevators, and the most beautifully laid out breakfast buffet in a true garden room, windows on all three sides, looking out at palms waving gently. The breakfast had mini bottles of olive oil and teensy personal salt and pepper shakers, great coffee, excellent choices and service! The room was average sized, linens lovely, the bed not as firm as many European beds, a big bathroom, and a stunning view over the bay. I left the window/doors open all night and could hear the waves far below. Finding this hotel is another matter....thank goodness for GPS!! And it is not really close to anything....still, at the end of a long day's drive, it was the perfect place to settle back and imagine Gatsby sauntering by.

Room Tip: Of course, ask for or upgrade to an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    147
    67
    26
    21
See reviews for
69
249
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Real was nice however it felt tired and cleanliness was an issue. The hotel is full of carpets, rugs and old style furnishings which were dusty. We had a junior suite interconnecting to a double room with beautiful views out to the bay. The beds were okay, not very comfortable and were definitely on the small side. The living room which came with the suite was beautifully furnished but the furniture and curtains were so dusty that we couldn't use the room. The furnishings desperately needed deep cleaning.

I did use the spa a few times and it was okay if it were free. Access to the jacuzzi and steam/sauna was around 28 euro and definitely not worth it. The steam and sauna rooms fulfilled their purpose however nothing beyond. I did manage to obtain a discount which made the price bearable, however if I was to be charged the full rate I would be disillusioned. The spa was filled with locals each day who obviously are not charged by the same price structure. It lacked cleanliness and any sense of exclusivity. On my last visit I failed to find any toilet paper in any of the toilets which was a bit disconcerting. I did mention this to the receptionist who thanked me for letting her know yet remained seated as though it lacked importance.

The gym was also uninviting, consisting of a dark carpeted room with a few machines, no music, and a dull and dated ambiance.

The restaurant on the other hand was excellent. We did have a degustation which was brilliant and obviously prepared by a outstanding Chef who excelled at what he does. The maitre-d was first-rate, professional and courteous, and the dining room was lovely. The barman was also polite and proficient.

The building and location are great, views are excellent, and the front office staff were nice and eager to please. The hotel is let down by a lack of cleanliness, a sub-standard spa, and a lack of vitality. The restaurant however was of a very high standard, in my opinion Michelin starred quality and this offset the negative to an extent. Overall we had a good experience but I was expecting better.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a good idea as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great hotel, you feel right at home, built in 1917 certainly hotels reflected different sets of parameters. They make you feel more like at home, a nice home well designed with one thing in mind your comfort.

Room Tip: Get the old castle and sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here visiting family in Santander. First time and was a great stay. AWESOME VIEWS!
Hotel recently changed to the Eurostars hotel Chain and is undergoing renovations. This was great because I was upgraded to a room with view of the Sardinero and Palacio de la Magdalena.
Room: Great view if you are on the beach side. Rooms still contain many of the original furniture when it opened over 100 years ago. My room was spacious and had everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel .
Has a great terrace to enjoy some drinks and breakfast if you missed the buffet.
Location: located high up and perfect for the views of the bay. A little far from the city but you can catch a bus or taxi (aprox 6 Euro). About 10-15min walk to Sardinero beach and Magdalena Palace.
Wifi: very slow. No option to upgrade to better speeds.
At such a fancy hotel would be nice to have someone to greet you at the door and escort you to your rooms.
There is a separate spa and treatment center. I did not use it but its 50% of mon-thurs (at time of my stay Oct 2013). Looked very Nice.
Will return again for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above 3 level and views to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our second stay in this lovely grand hotel. Beautiful balconied bedroom with a fantastic view over the water to the mountains, friendly and helpful staff plus a great breakfast.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Had good rooms both times we have stayed in the Hotel Real. I think most if not all the rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Great views from almost every room of either the bay or ocean. Our room was huge by any standard and nicely furnished. Staff very accommodating. Great location as we were able to walk to nice beach or take bus downtown. Wifi a little slow.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful old hotel. Five star rating and five star treatment. This is the second time we have stayed there, and it remains the best we have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and air. the staff are wonderful and the breakfast is superb. This was a Brittany Ferries offer and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Address: Paseo Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Hotel Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.