We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Real to your Saves list
Hotel Real
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Santander
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Five Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful old hotel. Five star rating and five star treatment. This is the second time we have stayed there, and it remains the best we have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and air. the staff are wonderful and the breakfast is superb. This was a Brittany Ferries offer and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    135
    59
    26
    19
See reviews for
66
228
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The higher rooms with balconies offer a great view of Santander and the coast. They are confortable and spacious. The grounds are very nice and offer a peaceful oasis to relax in. The food is good anf fresh. It has that charm that old world luxury offers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booked and paid in advance for a deluxe double room with view, porter took us to a twin bedded room so we showed him our booking he rang the desk and moved us to another room also with twin beds but they were larger so we said ok, we noticed the room smelt stuffy but thought it must have not been used for a while, we went out and returned the room smelt of sewerage so rang reception they offered us the original twin room or we could pay 40 euro extra for a suite, explained we paid for a deluxe double and if they couldn't give us what we paid for they should upgrade us, after waiting in the foyer while they decided what to do they finally gave us an inferior room that didn't smell.. Very dissapointing the only good point is the Bell Boy was very nice and helpful...would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I too booked this hotel on the ferry special, or whatever it is they are catering for now from Portsmouth and at about £100 a night, sort of last minute, was astonished at the price - I knew there had to be some kind of catch so "unprepared" myself for total luxury in advance. (the primary reason I booked it was for the supposed pool, apart from the amazing history…)

Undeserving of it's 5* luxury rating for most modern city travellers, though nevertheless an extremely pleasant stay. The "pillow menu" in the bedroom is about the only 5 star perk I could see apart from the nice mattress & spacious bathroom, but a few cracks here and there and an uncomfortable shower for some because of central head placement and wrap around shower curtain (though it was clean).

Though no doorman as others have mentioned - go and ask at the front desk for help if you need it up the stairs to reception - I think they have a ramp somewhere as well. Very good customer service on site, thank you for making my stay unforgettable and allowing me to practice my Spanish! I had a 5 star experience, but am rating at 4 in all fairness to other travellers who no doubt expect more.

My biggest moan is that I wrote to the hotel 3 days in advance asking about use of the Spa/Pool and received no reply… it was via the reservation form, however, so one might have better luck contacting the hotel directly for any special requests - and maybe best by phone or direct email, and persistence (?) Maybe it was just an incredibly busy weekend for the Spa, although I had no problem extending my hotel stay a couple of nights once there.

Upon arrival I found there were no Spa treatments available for a WEEK and use of the pool was something like 9 euro per session, with odd hours available. The Spa where the pool is located is in fact NOT run by the hotel (and they should mention this on their site), so if you call the hotel, get the Spa number and book directly with them… be patient until they find someone who can speak English if you can't get by in Spanish.

Peaceful residential area, saw a few Spanish children on bikes tranquilly riding around. It's a 15 or so minute walk to the beach on the way back, quicker downhill there, but a lovely beach (Playa de los Peligros) and for me a lovely walk, lots of stairs… The hotel can provide you with a blue unmistakably Hotel Real towel so if you're not into that and want to blend in, bring your own. Bicycles are available for hire, not sure about locks. 5-6 euro taxi ride to town centre/ferry terminal if you aren't into walking.

They have installed a modern lift now, but I enjoyed the vintage one as well.

Had many interesting conversations with the elegant Spanish guests, some who had been coming for years. Very good food/room service. Pricing is what you'd expect of 5 star, but also a few reasonable selections and excellent quality. Good TV, but sketchy wi-fi at times, although they do have a complimentary computer terminal, phone and printer available in the lobby.

Might be a lovely place for an inexpensive and intimate 4* wedding (at the rates I paid and although I was told it is still the best hotel in town, I would not pay much more per night).

Definitely will return to this hotel and beautiful region some day for a laid back beach holiday when I don't have time to make it to Italy for warmer water - brrrrr! It was freezing, but hot enough outside to sort of enjoy it for one who isn't much phased by a bit of brain freeze. Good restaurant on the beach.

Next time for the Guggenheim will go straight to Bilbao, but the bus journey there was comfortable and convenient (was told it was better service than the train and definitely some lovely views). Buy in advance or get to the bus station early to buy your ticket during peak times, none of the automated machines worked and long queue that you must take a ticket for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

All is very good, eat is normal, all rooms have small balcony, tv have lots of channels, but internet it's slow for phones, mini bar is medium, beds are nice, bathroom is normal. The hotel have a big garden and some windows views of Santander and the beautiful coast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped here after the ferry journey from Portsmouth. It was very comfortable and interesting in terms of architecture and history. I would say it was slightly underwhelming though very nice and not at all swanky....the breakfast was disappointing in the sense that it was nothing special. Our room was great with a lovely balcony overlooking Santander. MY FRIEND NEARLY POKED HER EYE OUT ON A PIECE OF WROUGHT IRON that was sticking out from the balcony dividers....we were watching fireworks and it was dark. That could have been very dangerous. Luckily she still has two eyes.
We had a lovely club sandwich in our room and enjoyed the sounds of the fireworks and rock concert that was happening in the bay. Most of the clientele were Spanish and were there for the bullfighting...yuk! (to the bullfighting). The lift was fascinating and probably would not conform to UK H&S standards. Polite staff and easy parking. It took AGES for us to find the hotel as the police had closed the main road to it...nothing to do with the hotel.
The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable...nearly as good as your own bed.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony ...a deluxe one I think. Quite a walk from the beach. I would stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this '5 star' hotel primarily as it advertised a pool which we wanted to use with our 3 year old. The hotel may well have been in its prime 40 years but is run down. Room floor tiles had chips,carpets were frayed and brown stained toilet bowels and furniture chipped. The pool prohibited the under 5s which was hugely disappointing and even more so the reaction of the deputy general manager when we explained that was the reason we booked the hotel. Her attitude was one that it was not advertised as a swimming pool. Positives were one or two very personable staff (albeit only a few) and the locations which suited us as it was in a quiet area 15 minutes walk from santander.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view room which are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real

Address: Paseo Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.