We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hotel Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Hotel Real to your Saves list
Eurostars Hotel Real
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manresa, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view, great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just stayed there for three nights. The hotel is really nice in an old fashioned way. We were upgraded to a room with a view and a full bed for our child, (instead of rollaway bed) which was nice and more comfortable for all. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Maybe the toilets and baths are a bit old fashioned and the arm rests of the bath a bit rusty underneath and should need a little renovation. The plus for this hotel is the staff at reception, restaurant and bar,the location with great views to the whole bay and the building. We ate there in the restaurant and the maitre was very kind and the food very good too. Breakfast was quite disappointing for a hotel of this category as when we asked for cereal bread they told us that it was the most demanded but they only had three loafs for each day, so at 9:30 it was finished, I find it quite ridiculous. We had breakfast without having any if the used dishes taken away and the buffet was lacking many of the different food and they were very slow in replacing them. They don't have local food and some days they didn't have skimmed milk.It's quite an expensive meal and the quality is not one of a five star Gran Luxe Hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    147
    67
    26
    21
See reviews for
69
250
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza Town, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you are in Santander stay at the hotel Real, the staff, service, rooms, food,cleanliness, everything was excellent and believe you me my wife is very fussy when it comes to hotels.
The gardens are lovely to walk around even in february , unfortunately we did not experience the spa but the decadence and history of the entire complex blew me away, we will definitely return and recommend this hotel
Ian Gourlay

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel I visited with partner and found it to be excellent. The views are good, location easy to get to and quality of everything from food to rooms and staff are outstanding.

I found it one of the best hotels ive ever been to, and there have been a few now. I wouldn't hesitate to go gain and it a great trip on the Britanny Ferry from Portsmouth or Plymouth depending on time of year.

Room Tip: Front facing have great views to coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Real in Santander, with my wife , for two nights in February 2013.
It is an old hotel, inaugurated at the beginning of the XX century. Contrary to some of the criticism I have seen in other reviews, I found it was in excellent shape, beatifully maintained. In fact , last year I stayed at the Ritz in Madrid, also an old hotel, and the Real is in every aspect as good as or perhaps better than the Ritz.
The room we got, #317, had an incredible view of the Botin mansion - in fact I understand Mr.Botin owns the hotel too - and we could see all of the bay with its beaches.Beatiful!
But, the best part of the stay was the food at El Puntal restaurant: simply excellent. It was so good that we had dinner both nights there. Everything we tried. - duck, piglet, fish- was first class. And then,the sevice was impecable and the price quite reasonable. Try the bacalao!The buffett breakfast was delicious.
I can not comment on the Spa, because we did not use it.
So, if we go back to Santander , we'll certainly go back to the Real.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I started looking for a hotel with a gym, this was the only one i found but did not get a chance to use it due to amount of work i had to do :-(, but what a great choice of Hotel, old world charm, friendly and extremley helpful reception staff, who booked taxi's for me and recommended some great places to eat in town, and would always write it down for the taxi driver. My Spanish is limited so this was a great help. Loved the room, great view, house keeping staff extremly friendly and very clean. would return tommorow if i could thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel (sea view) avoid rooms next to the lift, the floors do cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Im consider myself a very critical person when it comes to hotels, and this one i can say very much took my breat away. It has beautiful facilities, evoques victorian style, and the services is just so kind and helpfull during 24 hours.
We actually ended in this hotel because the one that was booked for us made a mistake (the best mistake i have the pleasure to admit). The food is very good and have a pretty much great menu of seafood distrubute in 3 restaurants.
Is very cozy/luxury which is generally not combined in any hotel ive been before. You will just love staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this hotel has always been a pleasure.super room overlooking the beach and interesting coastline.great breakfast.this is not a budget hotel but for a couple of days it does make the wait for the ferry so enjoyable.couldnt come to Santander and not stay here,just lovely.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Address: Paseo Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Hotel Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.