We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bahia de Santander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bahia de Santander to your Saves list
Hotel Bahia de Santander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cadiz, 22, 39002 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Santander
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Bahia is a great hotel, Perfectly situated for the ferry port. I was really impressed with the car park service on arrival. We hadn't booked a space I. The car park but were listed as new arrivals and allocated a spot in the secure underground car park. Our huge, spotless room overlooked the handsome city of Santander - a faultless stay. I will certainly be back when I am next in the Santander area.

Room Tip: Floor 10 has beautiful views of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    151
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
81
155
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is in the north of Santander near the port. Very near the Brittany Ferries Terminal.
We booked in as the location was very good as we had a morning crossing.
The rooms are very good, typical Spanish large comfortable beds, breakfast expensive but the have a cafe for coffee and snax before boarding the boat.
The restaurant is very good but we walked into the city to eat.

Room Tip: We chose one overlooking the harbour but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our room was very large and had a great view of the Cathedral. The hotel was very near the port so for us was excellent.
The breakfast was great and very tasty. It was easy to access the old town and the sea front

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your opinion, is very important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room for one night only was on 7th floor, overlooking the cathedral. It was large , very clean and comfortable, with a very well equiped bathroom, all marble, and lots of "products"!
A huge comfortable bed, and a quiet room was ideal as a pre ferry nights sleep.
4 lifts always available, never had to wait.
We used their carpark too, a reasonable 15 euros extra per night.
We didnt use the restaurant, so cant comment, as breakfast was an extra 17 euros, and there are so many cafes very nearby, serving coffee and croissant for about 2 euros.
We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room on 7th floor overlooking the cathedral was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosscarbery
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a view of the Cathedral but the bells did not seem to ring during the night. The room was very comfortable and clean, plenty of space and comfy beds. The bathroom was also excellent. There were four lifts so we never had to wait for one. We sometimes used the cafeteria for breakfast and sometimes went to the cafe in the Cathedral square which we liked very much and which was cheaper. Also a nice place for a glass of wine in the evening sitting outside watching the world go by. The day we left we had the Menu del dia in the hotel restaurant and thought it was the nicest food we had had during our week in Santander. The staff on reception were all very friendly and helpful. Our only niggle was that we very rarely managed to get wifi reception in our room and had to come down to the foyer to use the Ipad. The location is excellent, very near the bus station and rail station, but we were never disturbed by traffic noise in our room. We were very happy with our choice of hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
thank you so much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The Bahia is a large comfortable hotel, across the road from what is to be a new cultural centre. The access to the ferry port for cars has moved down the road a little but it's still very close. Rooms with a sea view also currently have a view of the building site but then rooms with a view of the cathedral also come with the sound of the bells chiming the quarter hours. Th restaurant is well appointed, meals are on the expensive side but portions are generous and the breakfast is an extensive buffet. There is also a popular and sometimes very busy cafeteria. Staff are friendly and wi-fi is free and available all over the hotel. For tapas try either the Cafe Royalty two blocks towards the ferry terminal or the bars inside the covered market two blocks the other way towards the marina. The cerveceria 100 a few doors along is very good for beers and sandwiches.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of October, finishing our month long tour of France, Switzerland & Italy and we weren't disappointed. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient, spoke perfect english and had everything ready for our arrival. We had requested a sea view, high floor, not near a lift and we got exactly that. There was some sort of ground work going on across the road but we weren't disturbed by noise and, as we were on the 7th floor it didn't really spoil the view for us. The room was large, spotless and everything worked. We didn't have breakfast but did eat in the restaurant (off the a la carte menu) and the food and service were excellent, no complaints at all. If we return to Santander we will definitely stay here again. We chose to park the car in the hotel's private underground car park (extra charge), accessed via a car elevator, which worked very well and the spaces were generous. There is public underground parking just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a hight floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia de Santander, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bahia de Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia de Santander

Address: C/ Cadiz, 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia de Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bahia de Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bahia de Santander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.