We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santander Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Puertochico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vincci Puertochico to your Saves list
Vincci Puertochico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Castelar, 25, 39004 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Santander
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Santander Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in July and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is about a 15-20minute walk from the train/bus station but is worth it when you get there. It has a great location overlooking the marina and main boating channel for the ferry in and out of Santander.
We had booked a standard double room which unfortunately doesn't have a sea view, however when we arrived at the hotel we discovered that we had been upgraded to a room with a sea view! We were delighted and enjoyed looking out of our window during the time we had in our room.
There is a busy road outside but we found the hotel to be well sound proofed. The room was clean and we found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is a bit pricey but I wouldn't let that put you off from staying here. If we were in Santander again we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    86
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
25
123
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. It is right across the marina, very close to restaurant/bar neighborhood of the town, easy to park your car (right on in front of the hotel there is a public car park), breakfast is decent. Our room was clean and OK. Nothing too fancy to be honest for the value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nicely situated on the end of the sea boulevards, in front of sports harbour, just before the festival buildg and the beach area. Bus stop just in front, public parking underneath, expensive. Our room on highest 9th floor, nice, big bath, to the back street, with smal balcony. Windows in poor shape, do not close thightly and water has come in. Matrasses (beds) very hard, not comfortable. Breakfast high price, but good value. Staff professional. Good value for Santander if you want to stay right in the city.

Room Tip: Back street seems quieter than front sea view and boulevard with high traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us during your stay in Santander and for writing your opinions for us. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied, over all, with the hotel´s location and the treatment you received from the staff. Our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, that we did not meet all your expectations. In this regard, we can assure you that we bear in mind each and every guest´s feedback, complaints and opinions, always in order to improve.
We are also sorry for the problems you had with your room´s window and we will take note of your feedback in order to improve this aspect. Always when a guest notifies us that, despite our ongoing revision and maintenance work, something in their room has a problem, we try to repair it as soon as possible and, in case it is not possible to fix it during the guest´s stay, we will try to take care of the inconvenience in another manner. If in your case this did not happen we offer our most sincere apologies and we regret any inconveniences it caused.
Regarding the breakfast buffet we would only like to clarify that it costs 13 euros plus VAT and includes, along with other products, breads, oils, eggs, sausages, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, quince, salads, fruit, pastries, pies, juices, natural orange juice, coffee, milk, infusions and chocolate. We are sorry if in spite of this you found it expensive and we will take note of your feedback in order to adapt as best as possible to the tastes and preferences of our guests.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hi we stayed in this hotel a couple of months ago we picked of trip advisor we only stayed one night as we were on driving tour across top of Spain the hotel is quite small we had a first floor room with nice view across bay it is on a main road but we had no problem with noise rooms are very modern and clean just a short walk into city centre or a short drive to the beach overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was in an excellent position and our room which was a panoramic room had outstanding views across the Bay.The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was quite hard but the pillows good.
Breakfast was very good with a selection of hot and cold food and really pleasant service.
There were several good restaurants to choose from nearby and all within easy walking distance.
The bar and small food cafe had wonderful sandwiches which we enjoyed on the sunday afternoon with delicious apple pie.
The staff were very helpful and the car park was right opposite (underground) from the Hotel so easy to use and navigate.
I would go back to this hotel if I was in Santander in the future.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the sea -well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights here at the Puertochico. My room was lovely, with a most impressive bathroom. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the city. The breakfast was lovely, thoroughly enjoyed. I was, however, quite put out when my washing( one set of clothes) cost over thirty euros. It seems I paid 2.50 euros to wash a handkerchief-my mistake for not reading the fine print on the laundry bag I found after the event.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for much for choosing Vincci hotels for your stay in Santander and for sending us your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking, as well as our rooms and breakfast. Our guest´s satisfaction is without a doubt our reason to be and what we work for day after day in our chain.
We regret, though, that you were not entirely pleased with the cost of our laundry service. In this regard we would just like to mention that the costs of this service are specified on the form the guest must fill in when depositing their laundry.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great Hotel, spent 3 nights and enjoyed every minute.
Staff were extremely helpful, rooms was large and very comfortable with great view across the bay, parking right across from hotel, fabulous breafast spread and with plenty of restaurants nearby....will use again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vincci Puertochico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Puertochico

Address: C/ Castelar, 25, 39004 Santander, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Puertochico 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vincci Puertochico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Puertochico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.