We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i would definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Puertochico

Save Saved
You added Vincci Puertochico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Puertochico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Castelar, 25, 39004 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 38 hotels in Santander
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“i would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

we did the plymouth to santander mini cruise stayed for 2 nights hotel excellent very friendly all spoke reasonable understandable english our stay was great we had a great view over the marina my only gripe was i didnt want to go home as i felt totally relaxed im glad we up graded from the basic hotel on the holiday offer.thumbs up from us. ;-).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    77
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
22
113
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

my wife and i travelled by ferry from plymouth. normally we would have a few hours in santander and then return on the ferry to plymouth,having visited santander at least 50 times on mini cruises but this time we were booked into the puertochico for 2days. what gem of an hotel, the staff were marvelous and multi-lingual and the breakfast only option was brilliant. the food was plentiful (help yourself) and appetising. a short walk one way from the hotel took you into the city with its multitude of shops, bars and eateries and in the other direction were the beach and maritime museum along with other bars and places to eat.we had a basic tariff room but ours overlooked the marina. definitely will be visiting this hotel again. my only mini gripe was the pillows, but what the heck!!!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view the views are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeilaart
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel couldn't be better located. Just outside of the center but within an easy walking distance of not more then a few minutes. Go coming out of the hotel two doors to your left and you will find an excellent place for breakfast (Valor). They have churros with hot chocolate, tostada de aceite con tomate (toasted bread with olive oil and tomato) and many other delicacies that you might want for breakfast. If you want to save some room for lunch and dinner I recommend a light breakfast in this place. For $10-12 you can easily have breakfast for two. No need to use the hotels breakfast buffet at $ 17 per person.
Go coming out of the hotel two doors to your right and you will find an excellent cocktail bar (King's) with a selction of about 80 different gins to make your gin-tonic or other cocktail. I guess that they had at least this variety in single malt whiskeys and vodkas available to.

Unfortunately the hotel was somewhat underequipped, so that the staff were not able to deliver the service they might have wanted to. The room we had was quite small, about 20 m2 plus bathroom. It gave however a nice view to the bay. There was no free Wifi in the hotel, neither in the rooms nor in the lobby. You could purchase wifi cards ($ 10) for about 45 minutes actual surfing time or for 24 hours access ($20). The outside temperature was about 48 degrees Fanrenheit (9 degrees Celsius). It was quite chilly in the room. Heating didn't work. Asked to arrange the heating at the reception desk. The lady apologized that the entire hotel airconditioning was in the 'cooling mode'. It was going to be put in 'heating mode' after the bank holidays. The lady at the reception desk obviously felt guilty/ashamed that she couldn't do what was apparently a proper wish of her guests, but we were without heating in a cold room for two days. All together the value for money ratio (average $ 165 per night) was poor in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Vincci Hotels and for sending us your feedback regarding our service and facilities. We are pleased to know that you were pleased by our location, although we deeply regret that we did not completely meet your expectations and that specific details were not to your liking.
In this respect we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observation, complaint, suggestion and comment, always with the aim of improving.
However, we would like to clarify that with respect to our climate control system the hotel presets different hot and cold modes depending on outside air temperature and the temperature of different areas of the hotel. During the first days of your stay the heating was activated in the northern area of the establishment and the air conditioning in the south, while during the last days of your stay with us, the heating was turned on in all of the hotel due to the cold outside air temperature and in response to requests from the majority of our guests.
Ultimately, we work to completely satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us.
We remain at your disposal for anything further you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. As an ex resident of Santander I found the hotel better value for Money than many of its competitors.

The location was ideal
For the seafront, beaches and city and the rooms were great. Although we paid basic tariff for no sea view, our room was huge and took up almost an entire floor (507).

The staff were attentive and friendly
And proudly displayed their tripadvisor certificate if excellence in the reception desk.

It seemed like a big four star luxury hotel crammed into a little
Space (but in a clever way so it felt airy and spacious)!

We would definayely return again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Good modern hotel in a great location right on the marina. It is about 5km from the airport, and within walking distance of the main ferry port. It is also close to one of the main areas of restaurants and tapas bars including some of the best in Santander - within easy walking distance of 5 to 10 minutes. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only problem is if you are travelling by car - parking in central Santander is very difficult and the area around the hotel is no exception. However, there is an underground public car park more or less outside the hotel which charges a maximum daily rate of 14Euro for stays of over 10 hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel served its purpose for us as a one night stop over for the ferry back home. We wouldn't have wanted to stay longer, though. It is conveniently located on the front between the old town and the beach areas. There is public parking very conveniently outside for which the hotel has a deal at 14 euros for 24 hours. The reception and bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was OK but nothing special, with a small bath and over bath shower. We weren't asked whether we wanted a non-smoking room and ours had clearly had a smoker in it recently. The wi-fi is good but expensive at 15 euros for 24 hours (better value that 9 euros for 1 hour though!!).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Esteemed guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that your stay in our hotel met you expectations, although specific details were not to your satisfaction.  We´ll keep in mind your views with the aim of improving in the future.  Without a doubt the satisfaction of our guests is our reason to be.

We hope to welcome you again soon to our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Myself and three friends visited Santander last weekend for a short city break and we stayed at the Vincci Puertochico. We were extremely impressed with the warmth of the staff, from the lady who checked us in on reception who was so helpful assisting us in getting our bearings, from the guy who ran the breakfast service, who was effecient and friendly, to the bar lady who served us drinks on the terrace. I feel the people working in this hotel is one of it's strong points. The hotel was very comfortable, but I did feel the beds a little hard, but maybe that's just me!! We were delighted to be allowed stay in our rooms for an additional hour before checking out... this enabled us to have a much more relaxed morning before we travelled home.. some hotels would be very strict on this, but we found the Vincci very accommodating and were delighted. The location is beautiful, looking out over the marina, a ten minute walk from the beach and an optimum location near plenty bars and restaurants and the shopping area. I would certainly recommend as we all really enjoyed our stay in Santander.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vincci Puertochico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Puertochico

Address: C/ Castelar, 25, 39004 Santander, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Puertochico 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Vincci Puertochico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Puertochico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.