We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and antique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada De Pedrena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada De Pedrena to your Saves list
Posada De Pedrena
178 | cantabria, 39130 Santander, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Santander B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful and antique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Posada de Pedrena is a beautiful, well mainained place.
The hosts are very friendly (they do not speak English though...)
Location is not perfect - right on the central road in the village, althought the views of the bay and garden are very pleasant. The breakfast is abundant with very good cofee.
Our room was very clean and comfortable; we also saw other rooms - all are different!
If a slight smell of old furniture and sound of occasional car in the morning don't bother you - you won't regret visiting this place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Posada de Pedrena is furnished and decorated up to the smallest detail in traditional style, makes you feel you are a guest in private house. We liked it very much. The breakfast is very, very tasty with several kinds of cakes and home-made jams, the owner prepares fresh fruit juice and excellent coffe. The location is very convenient - there is 10 minutes walking to the ferry to Santander ( 15 minutes, 2 Eu, every 30 minutes)- and you land in the centre od Santandedr- no need to use the bus or car. Very nice stay in nice atmosphere. In the sitting room there is a lot of books about Cantabria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights while on a cycle tour. Nice rooms, well appointed in the local traditional style. Owner was friendly and will assist you with local tourist information (he's also an accomplished scuba diver!) Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice (it is extra). A nice place to stay if you want somewhere not too far from the ferry port but don't want to stay in the city of Sanatander. Good restaurant 1/2 km down the road with plenty of fresh seafood and a lovely beach at Sangre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

One drawback is the Posada being situated on to a minor road where traffic noise early morning can be annoying. Some comments regarding the owners brusqueness in our opinion is due to the language barrier if you don't speak Spanish. English is hard to come by in this part of Spain and generally as most Brits do not speak any Spanish communication can be a little difficult at times. We enjoyed our stay in this quaint hostal but the rooms were all very clean, the beds very comfortable with good en-suite bathrooms. Breakfast was very good with plenty of home-made food and pastries.
Pedrena is a small village - the home of the late Sevvy Ballesteros - and apart from the golf course and the ferry across to Santander has little other attractions. A particularly good restaurant, Asador El Tronky, is a short walk away and serves very good food including fresh fish all at reasonable prices. Well used by locals so must be good!
The coast line around the area is stunning and great for surfing.

Room Tip: A room at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, the B&B is so beautiful, you feel like you are in someone's home, it is decorated beautifully. It is located in Pedrena which is a small town across the bay from Santander, we took the ferry(2E) to Santander everyday and it was great, it runs every 30 mins. The only thing is it only runs until 9pm so you will need to find restaurants in pedrena or somo which is just down the street. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip!! For our travel style it was nice to be outside the noise and crowds of Santander and we had parking at the posada for free, the ferry was so easy that it was the perect place to stay. We will stay again next time we are in Spain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada De Pedrena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada De Pedrena

Address: 178 | cantabria, 39130 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada De Pedrena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada De Pedrena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.