We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a low price town centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adonis Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adonis Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Adonis Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Candelaria, 10, 38002 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great for a low price town centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here one night on route to another island. 42 Euro for a double room 36Euro for a single which was a fraction of the price of other hotels we have stayed in in the same town. For a budget hotel it was excellent. Nice clean rooms, quite spacious with good solid furniture and loads of storage, comfy bed, great bathroom. No balcony but full length windows that opened to let air in, our room had nice views of a fairly bustling side street and a side view of the sea, the single room overlooked the courtyard and altho still a lovely room was a bit less airy, other rooms had balconies and I would ask for one next time. Breakfast included in the price, this was unexpected, and fabulous, great choice and as much as you can eat buffet style with full english as well as cereals, toast, bread rolls, all kinds of jams and savoury spreads, continental breakfast, croissants and danish pastries, the restaurant had a great view of the harbour.
The hotel is situated in a buzzing part of town with shops bars and restaurants all around giving it a very cosmopolitan feel.
For location, value for money, cleanliness and friendly helpful staff I will now stay there every time I am passing thru Santa Cruz and would lengthen my stay for a couple of days to enjoy the experience of staying in the centre of this lovely old town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto street more airy, not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
19
29
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tongeren, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Well, we came back to Santa Cruz for a holiday of sun and discoveries, and of course we stayed at the Plaza hotel. Beware : some dotcom companies sell rooms at a Plaza de Santa Cruz Hotel : it is neither the same management nor comfort although it is situated a mere 100m from the original, above the McDonalds. The real Plaza is on plaza Candelaria.
When we arrived the man at the reception proposed to give us a quiet room on the 6th floor looking out on a side street as the celebrations of the New Year might disturb us; we preferred however the balcony overlooking the plaza and all the hubbub that can go on till quite early in the morning : it is a much more lively scene than we are used to at home and we don’t mind the noise. In our twin room on the 3rd floor nothing had changed except the new hairdryer. Still good beds, plenty of hot water in the shower, and an excellent breakfast which we ate every day on the outside terrace of the 4th floor dining room. It was a lovely week to start a fresh year; we hope to come again : stay tuned !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Spend 1 night in this hotel for shopping, siteseeing and clubbing in Santa Cruz. Very convenient central location. Close to all public transport, within the shopping area and also restaurants are nearby. The room had a balcony that was nicely overlooking the Candelaria square. During the day and evening you'll hear a bit of sound form outside (especially when opening the windows), however the night was pretty quite. The room had a laminate floor which is nice and clean. Breakfast was fine. Staff at reception friendly and effective. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Santa Cruz is definitively THE place to stay in Tenerife for a holiday except if you want to linger about the swimming pool and have an all-inclusive (bland food, ample drinks & lousy shows) experience. Hotel Plaza is a good choice as it is situated at the very heart of the attractive town in the pedestrian area . Small, clean, English spoken at reception, comfy rooms with very good bedding, good (considering you are in Spain even excellent) breakfast (4th floor in- our outside sitting), friendly staff. There is a restaurant for evening meals, not expensive but a bit dull and alas no canarian wine available. The walls and doors of our room (3rd floor, with balcony overlooking the plaza) would benefit from some fresh paint and the hairdryer has seen better days but I sincerely recommend this hotel and would choose it again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed here for one night after arrived at the North Airport. Easy enough to find right in the centre of the town.
The hotel is very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay. There is a small cafe/restaurant attached that attracts residents and locals alike, and again the staff were efficient.
The room itself was fairly stark and simply furnished, but nontheless comfortable. There were ample complimentary toiletries. The bed was oneof the most comfortable I have slept in for a while. Breakfast was good - plenty to choose from, coffee excellent. Only the hot food was a bit of a let-down.
For what I paid, it was very good value, and would certainly stay here again,

  • Liked — Practically everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

It is hard to fault this good value hotel on Plaza La Candelaria. Room 608 is a reasonably sized double room, spotlessly clean with modern laminate flooring. Electronic door locks. Two minor drawbacks – a small tv with no English language channels, and no balcony. Reasonable breakfast buffet between 7:00 and 10:00 although if you want fresh air you have to share the outside terrace with the pigeons. Several good value Chinese restaurants and a branch of McDonalds within 5 mins walk. Available through Alpharooms in the UK.

  • Liked — Location, reasonable price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

I booked this hotel as I was travelling to Santa Cruz on business. It is located in the very heart of the city just off the Plaza de Espana overlooking a main street. Santa Cruz doesn't have a large number of business hotels and the Plaza is perfectly fine. I was given a room on a high floor with a small balcony and a large bed. Cleanliness was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was OK although the selection wasn't that great. Downsides: the safe wasn't large enough for a laptop and the wifi was provided through Telefonica and not particularly reliable - it was down for much of my stay. Otherwise this hotel provides sound quality three star accommodations at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — friendly welcome, sound quality
  • Disliked — small safe, poor wifi access through 3rd party provider
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adonis Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adonis Plaza

Address: Plaza de la Candelaria, 10, 38002 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adonis Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Adonis Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adonis Plaza Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adonis Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.