We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The City Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza de Espana

Plaza de Espana
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
wainfleet
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The City Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

An ideal place to sit and relax with plenty of opportunities for refreshmentv right in the heart of the city..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    52
    44
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The plaza de espana is a nice place to visit,we didn't eat at any of the restaurants as we had packed a picnic,but there are plenty to choose from.We went round the shops at Santa cruz and there were some very nice shops there.A nice city to visit with some culture thrown in.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

if your in Santa Cruz you really cant miss this place ..its a massive square with loads of bars/cafes/restaurants etc. its lively and a great place to visit If your on a cruise ship you will probably end up there as well ..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beware of Meson Brasil during Carnaval”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

if you're in Santa Cruz for Carnaval, stay away from Meson Brasil outside the tourist information center near Plaza Espana. it's a tourist trap food vendor that's a total rip off. they don't advertise their prices, so shame on me for not asking first, but they charge 20 euros a plate for some really terrible food. we had the worst calamari ever, cold and soggy, and chorizo that was fished out of the charcoal on a plate of fries that had someone's hair on it. everywhere else we saw afterwards had good prices and advertised them, and the food looked better too. wish we explored more before going to Meson Brasil, but it suckered us right outside the tourist center. when I was hearing tables around me exclaim at their bill while we were eating, I just figured they ordered a lot of drinks, which in the US is usually a ripoff. but no, the food is way way overpriced and terrible to boot. stay away from Meson Brasil.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east scotland
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Boating pond overseen by imposing monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Home to the tourist information centre and a starting point for the hop on hop off bus the Plaza de Espania is a good meeting or starting point for a walk around Santa Cruz. The brutalist looking monument overseeing the Plaza is of its time and is a reminder of darker times.
I enjoyed watching two middle aged men sailing their model yachts over the water on a rather breezy Monday afternoon while others enjoyed coffee surrounded by trees clad in knitted and crocheted brightly coloured sleeves.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza de Espana also viewed

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Been to Plaza de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza de Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.