We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy atmosphere, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hierbita

La Hierbita
Calle Clavel 19, 38003 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922.244.617
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“cozy atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

i went here last night for dinner. it's a bit weird to walk to, but also in a row of restaurants and bars. just walking down this street at night is pleasant. the outside doesn't really look like much, but the inside is really nice. i went to the very back cubby hole to be seated and i got to sit on really comfortable wicker chairs with a cushion.

my waiter spoke english, and the menu was in both english and spanish. some things i still needed a bit of explaining, but the ordering went pretty easy. i ordered the vegetarian croquettas, and put a little bit of the spicy sauce from the table on it. :) i ordered also calamaries. and i thought i would get one or two kind of small calamaries... i got 4, beautifully arranged on my plate and gigantic(for what i was expecting) they were perfectly grilled. i also had a dessert that i'd never tried before and that was delicious as well.

it is definitely worth finding your way to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    141
    47
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely meal with a friendly waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had wandered off the track and entered the courtyard of this charming restaurant. Whilst the menus were in Spanish, our female waitress spoke good English and we had a selection of starters (spiced Canary sausages and a mozzarella + avocado starter). This was followed by a Dorado fish for my wife and steak for myself. Cosy setting, good wholesome food and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food! Waiter spoke a bit of English.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went there for lunch today. The waiter was nice and tried to speak English which was helpful due to that we don't speak much Spanish. He recommended us the grilled cheese appetizer, and then we ordered calamari a la romana and he recommended a tuna fillet. The appetizer was really tasty, salty and a huge portion. The calamari was not very good I have to say, no sauce with it, just fries. The tuna fillet was good, served with potatoes and some sauce. The bill for all the food and drinks was 32 euros--pretty good for lots of food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very typically Canarian Restaurant. Excellent menu and service but difficult to find. Worth persuing though. It is near to NHTenerife. Google for map. Great wines at good prices!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“A quaint restaurant with several rooms and very popular with locals.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

La Hierbita is located in the old quarter of Santa Cruz and comprises a number of rooms with tables. They have a good value Menu del Dia, but we chose from the A La Carte menu.

We shared a plate of ham (€13.25) which unfortunately was rather chewy. One chose the chicken with apple (€7.10) dish, which comprised a few pieces of chicken in a rather sweet apple sauce, served with hand-cut fried potatoes. The other opted for Fritos Hierbita (€18.95), described as a selection of fried fresh local fish. The dish included 2 langostinos, 4 sardines, a whole peto local fish, pieces of squid and octopus, served with a bowl of Canary Islands potatoes. The fish was rather dry and not very tasty.

On the plus side the price of a bottle of Izadi Crianza Rioja wine was just €10.50. The total bill for 2 with bread, wine, coffee, water was €61.

The service was friendly and efficient and the waitresses were charming, but the food could have been better. Maybe we should have opted for the Menu del Dia?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hierbita also viewed

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Been to La Hierbita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hierbita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.