We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Clitheroe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Short Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

High quality hotel, great location for the city and the beach/coast area. Excellent Pool area.The gym and spa looked good. Evening meal was good. Will return when we go on our annual visit to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey and for the time you spent to share these wonderful comments on your holiday experience among us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our central location affording an easy stroll to the old town with its array of leisure and dining options.


Furthermore , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Thank you again for your preference and your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Santa Cruz and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    186
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
98
309
35
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Sitting at the edge of city Centre of Santa Cruz. Everything is within walking distance, supermarket and 4-5 stars restaurant are within 5-20 mins walk. We went to the beach by bus, for which the bus stop is just 15 mins walk from the hotel. Nice swimming pool and Spa area (although we find the Spa abit pricey - 15 euro per person). Breakfast was very good, there were always plenty of choices (e.g. Jamon, ham, pastries, scrambled egg, bacon, sausages and fruits!) Our room was on the third floor and had a glimsp of the sea as well! Room was big, it was a double King size bed with a big bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback with TripAdvisor's readers on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey; it is always rewarding to read that our guests have enjoyed their holidays among us.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out our location, in a quiet residential area fronting a beautiful quiet park and within an easy walking distance from the old town and its array of typical restaurants and leisure options.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Last but not least, we loved reading your praising comments on our breakfast buffet; at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and strive to make it one of the highlights of our guests’ stay among us; it is very rewarding to read you enjoyed the wide selection of hot and cold, sweet and salty options as well as the cooked to order eggs.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Exceptionally high quality hotel in uptown Santa Cruz - staff delightfully helpful and no request too small to be dealt with perfectly. Gorgeous pool spa and public areas v comfy. We had bad weather sadly so didn't see hotel in the sunshine when I'm sure it really shines!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on your IBEROSTAR experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey for your visit to the lovely city of Santa Cruz; it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We also thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our hotel and overall installations that are designed to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Poor weather wasn't the hotel's fault but it was very disappointing!
Hotel is very good-I endorse what others have said about the very high quality of staff-pool life guard, housekeeping, reception, bar staff, wait staff-all kind, thoughtful-nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Breakfast is excellent though cost us extra. Small gripes- internet access though free is unreliable and involves logging in numerous times. The bath is difficult to get out of one if one has a mobility problem-I worked out an idiosyncratic method in the end and the shower fitting doesn't-so in order to shower without soaking the bathroom one has to hold the shower. The towel rack is positioned well for someone who is over 6ft!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. We appreciate all of your input, as it helps us identify areas that could use more attention to detail.

As you well say, unfortunately we experienced a few days of bad weather that unfortunately may have interfered with our internet connection during this period of time and we lament the inconveniences caused.

Moreover we took good note of your comment on your bathroom and lament not being informed about it as we would have looked for a solution, for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk for anything you may need to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

On the other hand, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Last but not least , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a room with a garden view , nice room , lovely balcony overlooking the gardens and hills but open dividers between so no privacy . Nice pool and room and public areas consistent with five star rating , breakfast was good with excellent choice but poor service in the restaurant for dinner , staff never offered coffee or even dessert . Food was of reasonable standard . Adjacent car park convenient and if pay via reception there is a discount . Central for easy walk to town centre . We would stay there again .

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful week at the Grand Mencey in Santa Cruz; beautiful hotel and grounds, lovely food, excellent service and best of all - the people who work there! Every member of staff we met was really kind, pleasant and helpful. They treated my three year old great niece like a princess. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed; reading that you “enjoyed a wonderful week” at our hotel fills us with pride.

We first would like to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing and for treating your great niece like a princess throughout your stay among us.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our expert Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our recently refurbished hotel, declared a cultural heritage site.

Thank you once again for your praising review and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had the best stay for my birthday at this hotel. They even made me a birthday cake to my room on the morning of my birthday (i didn't even mention to anyone in the hotel it was my birthday). i really appreciated all the staff at the hotel they did an amazing job.
I also visited the spa on my birthday for treatments, as a therapist myself i can honestly say they were one of the best treatments I've received for a long time.
The Dinning room food in hotel was reasonable cost and staff in the dinning room were very welcoming also pool side lunch restaurant had great food at a good price for a 5 * hotel. The only down fall i can say was the breakfast was very expensive for not a lot. but i'm not really a breakfast person so didn't really affect me.
There is also a park close by, 2mins walk. it is very beautiful with lovely flowers trees water features not what i expected in a city centre very tranquil. also there is a cafe area to have coffee to.
Over all i loved loved loved my stay in this amazing and romantic hotel

Thank you all xx

Stayed March 2014

Room Tip: cheaper rooms can over look side streets and more expensive over look hotel gardens and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey for such a special occasion as your birthday celebration and are thrilled we were able to make it a memorable one.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We are proud also to read such praising comments on the professionalism of our therapists and will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant and pool bar where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Thank you once again for your visit and your lovely review; we are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and send you our most heartfelt birthday wishes from IBEROSTAR.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey

Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a cultural heritage site and completely renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Grand Mencey in Santa Cruz de Tenerife is in a class of its own, not only renowned in the Canary Islands but also throughout all of Spain. An architectural jewel, this hotel combines urban luxury with the modern concepts of VIP guests, Wellness & SPA, business and vacation travel, conventions, the beach, and relaxation. The hotel also features other unique spots such as a kitchen classroom, lounge, and beautiful gardens...A world of pleasure to discover. As the epitome of luxury, the magnificent location of this 5-star hotel in the centre of Santa Cruz, its impeccable level of dining, unrivalled service, and undeniable attention to detail in its suites, rooms, lobbies, and gardens invite you to relax and enjoy sweet life of this idyllic CanaryIsland. Gastronomy plays a major role at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. To get updated on all our events and the latest news, please visit 'La cocina del Mencey'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.