We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for Veggies to roost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marea

La Marea
Calle Blanco, 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922368622
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice spot for Veggies to roost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

An excellent veggie menu that kept us busy on several nights running. At least five choices for vegetarians and all proved to be of a high standard.

Good service with plenty of attention.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went to La Marea having initially intended to eat at another place round the corner, which was closed. It's a lovely place, lots of room both inside & out, with pretty decor to match its main fish theme.
We had melon & Serrano ham and chickpeas with beef and chorizo to share as starters, both were delicious.
For main I had steak, our son had tagliatelle bolognese and my husband the seafood mixed grill. Again all very good, the seafood dish in particular was full of lots of different types of fish which were beautifully fresh.
Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant, good service from the staff and we left feeling very relaxed & happy. Thank goodness our original choice was shut, otherwise we might not have tried La Marea before leaving Puerto de la Cruz.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Very nice food and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Delicious and generous dishes. The mixed seafood grill is worthy of special mention. Waiters efficient and friendly. was a pleasure to be there! Would defiantly go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here over a number of years & always found it good, one of the few restaurants that we always visit twice even if just in Puerto for a week.
Located just off the Charcoal Square so it has plenty of the atmosphere without the crowds of the main square.
Last week we ate outside both visits and with a chill in the air the patio heaters came in to their own.
All the staff & there are quite a few of them were
friendly & attentive.
Food was very good, generous portions, both times this holiday we shared a Tempura Prawn starter that was beautifully presented & tasty, we had various main courses all good, last visit I went for grilled vegetables which looked a bit bland but tasted surprisingly good.
Also one of the best places we have visited for Sangria as not too sweet, the fruit makes a great alternative to a dessert it includes strawberries & banana slices.
Reasonable value at approx 60€ including two litre jugs of Sangria.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, Essex, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stopped for a drink and stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went here twice on our holiday both unintentionally. We stopped for a drink and stayed. It is that sort of place. Staff really friendly ,food very good. Chickpea with lamb and chorizo for a starter, my kind of food. The hake was very good and my wife really liked the lamb stew.Next time we went, my wife had the hake and I had a whole dorado (small) and reasonable priced. The food is lovely.and so are the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marea also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to La Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.