We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a warm experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regulo

Regulo
Calle San Felipe, 6, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
922384506
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Limerick
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a warm experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very disappointed. Got to say the restaurant was lovely and the food first class so really what am I complaining about. I have never had such disinterested service. The restaurant was not busy and all the waiters plus front of house person just huddled together talking - even when you got their attention it was very off hand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    91
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over rated, over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Think this restaurant relies on the building to impress, the food certainly didn't. Better fish dishes to be had nearby. Ordered the fresh hake, basque style, pretty tasteless, quite expensive. Little bit of "attitude" from one of the waiters. Will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY FIRST CLASS AND PROFESSIONAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We go to this restaurant every time we are in Tenerife, at least twice and always wish we had been on more occasions. The menu is extensive and the ambience wonderful, they have several individual rooms and all are charming, staff are first class and well trained. Standard of food is amazing but as the place is always very busy it speaks for itself. Highly recommended and easy to find. Beware, portions are large but so utterly scrummy it all seems to go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch if a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a lovely lunch here with a carafe of house white wine. Seafood soup was delicious as was the Tomato soup. Warm freshly baked bread too was yummy.
We shared a platter of seafood for our mains including garlic prawns. There was plenty for 2 people & was very tasty & well prepared.
We sat in the little courtyard which was charming & had a lovely atmosphere.
Worth a visit if you're prepared to pay a bit more for something special/different.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, especially the grilled fish platter for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My friend and I dined here twice during our recent visit to Tenerife. On the first occasion we arrived without a reservation and had a nice table on the first floor, the second time we had a similar table, having called in and booked in advance, as it was a Saturday night. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the food is excellent. Granted, you can eat for a lot less money but not this quality in Puerto de la Cruz. There are various rooms within the restaurant, so it is worth a visit to see where you would like to sit for your meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regulo also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Regulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.