We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regulo

Regulo
Calle San Felipe, 6, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922370360
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lancashire. England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food was great, the service very good and the surroundings in the lovely old building were delightful. We both had fish for our main courses and both meals were excellent. The starters were also very good, although a bit on the big side - we could have easily shared one between the two of us.
Overall, good value and a very pleasant dining experience.

Steven

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    133
    76
    23
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Regulo is just Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really something special. Olde worldy in a nice way. No tee shirts or baggy shorts here. Excellent comprehensive menu, food if mouth watering! No really expensive considering the quality say between 50-60€r two including the very acceptable house wine. A must for all visitors to Puerto - you will go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

No doubt the place is one of its kind and if we were in a restaurant atmosphere tour it might have been the best in Puerto. Having said that I have left with nothing good to say. Maybe it was their bad day or just the things we ordered. For starter we asked for the Asparagus wrapped with smoked Salmon. Terrible, Asparagus was served from a tin can!! And th salmon was awfull. For main we took the Chateaubriand. Sad thing is that it was even less than ok. Was served Medium Rare even though we asked for Medium and the taste was quit poor. It was the untasty Chateau we ever had. For last we asked the Tiramisu. Well even this simple desert tasted unfresh.

Seeing we left the Asparagus almost untouched the impatience waiter asked if it was because we are not hungry. He wasnt confused after hearing our opinion to say: "sometimes it happens". Unbelievable.

65€ the cost. First time in my life with no tip!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We fail to book it on time for New Year's but we came to have a romantic dinner with my husband. The Sangria we ordered was really nice (I love good sangria) and the food was very good too. Nice environment in a lovely house.

The service also was very good even thought was very busy

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Standard of food slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have dined at Regulo many times over the years and it can't be beaten for atmosphere, setting and service. However on the two occasions we visited this month the quality of a couple of dishes was well below normal high standard. The charming hostess handled the problem very well.
I am sure we will visit again next year and hope the kitchen has returned to its previous quality.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regulo also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Regulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.