We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made the most of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
C/ Acevinos, 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Made the most of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After a 4.5 hour flight you have another 1.5 hours coach trip to get to the hotel, we were dropped off outside one of the blue sea resort hotels and went to check in, only to be told that we needed to check in at the hotel across the road, so we had to take our 5 children (aged 13, 8, 6, 4 and 3 plus a pushchair plus 7 cases across a fairly busy (but one way) road went to check in, got our wristbands then told to go to the hotel next door! Our 2 rooms were beautiful nice large comfy rooms, with 4 single beds in one room and 3 next door, we were on the 5th floor with amazing views of both mount teidi and the sea.
The pools were FREEZING! Even when the temperature hit 32/33 degrees they were still just that little bit too cold, for the most of the holiday there were plenty of sun loungers available apart from Easter weekend when the whole hotel was flooded with the Spanish who thought it was perfectly acceptable to remove your belongings and take your sun lounger if you dared to leave and say go to get a drink or use the loo.........
The lifeguards were an absolute waste of space, a French boy dived into the pool and knocked himself out and guests had to dive in to rescue him as the life guard was too busy flirting with the Spanish ladies or emptying bins....
The food for 90% of the 9 days we stayed was lovely always being able to find something we all liked, but one evening (the Saturday) none of the food was even slightly appetising so we all just ate cheese and crackers!
The worst part of the holiday was when we all caught the norovirus (just had it confirmed by a doctor today!) we think it was spread by a French family as there was a young lad who was very sick, I have never been so ill in my life and my husband has a usually iron stomach was also extremely ill! We were first ill on fri 29 march and the last time one of the children was ill was the Tuesday just gone (16 April) when we told reception the children were sick (one of them was sick in bed) all they were bothered about was if they'd been sick on the carpets......
It's quite confusing that the restaurants were spilt between the 3 hotels, most days we just had food from the snack bar at lunch time as it was a bit of a pain getting the children dressed and taken to the hotel across the road, but I doubt any of us will ever eat another hot dog as long as we live!
The all inc drinks were brilliant, a serve yourself bar with all alcohol (local) and beer, a cocktail machine, water, juice, fizzy pop and coffee next to the pool and kids club
The entertainment could have been so much better, the mini disco lasted at most 20 mins and the staff would skip through the cd so the kids only got a few songs, then there was bingo.......
Would we stay again, probably not puerto de la cruz, it was nice for a change, but there was just nothing nearby for the kids to do, the walk to the town has some stunning views and I am glad we stayed on the north of the island for a change but we will definitely be going to Americas on our next holiday in the summer
We gave it 4 stars due to the fact we got a good deal, a nice hotel for what we paid but if you pay 4 star prices you maybe a little disappointed

Room Tip: Back of the hotel gets another hour of sun on the balcony after its gone from the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

All three hotels in the blue sea family are right next to each other and all of a high 3-4 star standard. We stayed in the Bonanza Palace which had terrific balconies and slightly posher than the other two.

It's the first time we went all inclusive and it is definitely good value and a really good standard, there is no restrictions on any drinks in pool bars or the evening bars!

The only thing that may surprise people if you don't do your research is that this town is quiet and generally the older generation, there is 1 busy bar for younger people (Blanco) and that is it! If you go for a relaxing holiday this is perfect.

The entertainment team were lovely, very welcoming and try really hard for the guests and take a genuine interest in you which was a lovely surprise. Thankyou Justin and the girls

We definitely made the right decision after weeks of debating hotels and areas, if you want a lively holiday I would go south, but we were very happy indeed!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not going to moan all the way through as i did enjoy my holiday and i have definately stayed in worse places however do need to tell the truth.

Stayed christmas day to new years day, 3 hotels in a triangle we stayed in Bonanza palace which i was told was a 4 star hotel, it is not. Rooms big but very dated, wardrobe old dark wood paneled and didnt close properly the carpet was ripped, it looked like there was a burn on it in one place and patio doors wouldnt budge open untill my husband rubbed soap and shampoo onto the runner. Also beds rock hard! There was some sort of heavy duty curtain pulled across and screwed to the wall on the left hand side as you entered our room no idea what was behind that husband wanted to prise it open but i persuaded him not to. Bath room clean to the eye but on closer inspection dirty round the edges of floor. However we walked past a room when it was being cleaned and it was horrendously messy so maybe the maid was overworked.

All inclusive food, breakfast dinner and tea loads to choose from and good quality, drinks large measures but not too large to be undrinkable available till midnight in 2 bars. 3rd bar was not all inclusive from 6pm to 12pm.

Entertainment was dire but ive never been anywhere where entertainment has been amazing and ive stayed in 5 star plus hotels.

Staff friendly, never had to wait long at the bar small queues now and then but nothing to complian about, waiter staff really helpful and friendly Jose in the Bonanza restaurante especially what a lovely man so friendly and helpful!

Too cold for outside pool however there were 3 and all were a good size and there were pool bars open next to 2 of the 3. We didnt use inside facilities although they looked reasonable, we lay by the pool once and it was clear to me the pool area had not been cleaned for a while, there was rubbish by our loungers including a plaster..not good.

Overall i would reccomend this hotel for a budget week away, i dont think i could have done 2 weeks there. Hotel caters for everyone really but if you are a young couple the nightlife isnt amazing but if your looking for a bugjet week away then would definately reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went for Christmas 2012. Room was massive, clean and staff really friendly. Booked holiday before I read the reviews - and thought omg what have I done. I will never read reviews again. Complex was great!!! There are 3 hotels you can use. You do need to go to the interpalace for lunch but that wasn't a problem but who eats breakfast, big lunch and dinner everyday? The Canarife hotel has an in door pool as well as outdoor. Food was great - variety to choose from. Kiddies club - 10.30-12.30 and then 3.00-5.00.
Weather was great!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks with my boyfriend at the end of September and wasn't expecting anything special from the reviews but we got a good deal so thought we'd just try to make the best of it.
Our first nice surprise was that the room was huge; the decor is a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. The shower was really powerful and a bidet always comes in handy for washing clothes.
The poolside sun beds do get taken up quite early but we tended to go after breakfast and always managed to get 2 and I did see the lifeguard moving peoples towels if they weren't using them a couple of times so the signs are adhered to.
I've been to lots of all inclusive resorts and have always found the food to be of a similar standard so knew what to expect and wasn't disappointed. You have to appreciate that the hotel is having to cater for hundreds of people of all different nationalities and tastes who want food there and then so it isn't always going to be fresh to your table or seasoned perfectly to your liking but thats all inclusive for you. We always found something to eat and thought there was plenty of choice with spices and sauces available.
We thought the all inclusive drinks tent was a great idea. We rarely had to queue and liked to be able to control the strength and mix of the drinks. I'd be very surprised if anyones children managed to get hold of anything as there was always a member of staff keeping an eye out and in my opinion that's the parents responsibility anyway.
We didn't have any problems with the staff, we didn't find them 'rude' as such, just maybe not bending over backwards to please like some hotels do. I think the hotels runs a skeleton staff and they work ver hard and that's probably the reason.The animation team in particular did a great job and worked very hard. Plenty of variety of activities during the day and, yes the evening entertainment was amateur at best but it was entertaining. The few professional acts they had in were brilliant, especially 'desire', the ballroom dance act.
We thought the facilities of the hotel were great; we played tennis, used the gym and the games room, swam etc. I know most people don't go away to 'work out' but it's part of our lifestyle so we liked being able to do it while away.
We also think that people's comments about the proximity of the hotel to the town are unfair. When you book to go away you should have a rough understanding of where you're going before you make the decision, especially if you're elderly or have mobility problems (or in some cases, are lazy). The street that the hotel is on has a few shops, bars and restaurants if you want them and there's a bus run by the hotel and a taxi rank outside the door. Even if there wasn't, the centre of the resort is only a mile (or 15 minute walk) away and the hill really isn't that steep.
All in all, you get what you pay for and we thought the standard that they offer for the money paid was great. I would recommend the Orchid Garden, which is about 5 mins away from the hotel and the Lido Martianez on the seafront - both about 5 euros to get in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Me and my husband booked this hotel with Lowcost holidays and was told this hotel was a five star hotel, well maybe it was 20 years ago but certainly not now.. We stayed at the Bonanza which is part of three hotels at first abit confusing with you booking in in at the interpalace then being sent to bonanza also a bit confusing regarding the dinning.. didn't take long to sort it out though..The rooms are large with a large balcony, we stayed for a week and only twice had our bed made no clean sheets. and I had to tell reception for the cleaner to change our towels. The entertainment was rubbish the drinks were help yourself and all out of plastic cups which is understandable around the pool area but not when chiiling inside. The food was repetitive. yes you can always find something to eat but when your paying good money you dont just want to find anything. We would defo go back to Puerto de la cruz town but NEVER back to this Hotel I DO NOT usually complain but on this occasion I felt I needed too. and I've never been to Hotel where I've had the need to moan... The resort was nice with lots of bars and shops but much going on maybe that was the time of year we went though. There were more Spanish and Germans then English That didn't bother us tbf It was just the food/drinks/entertainment and cleanliness of the rooms I've never been to an hotel where I've had to tell reception to get the cleaner to clean our room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having read many reviews, were got what we were expecting - clean hotel with large rooms although they were only cleaned twice whilst we were there, good variety of food; if you can't find something at every meal, you must be REALLY fussy!, the complex was kept clean and in good repair and you can use the facilities at the other two hotels in the group (Canarife next door and Interpalace over the road). Check in is at the Canarife as the Bonanza has no reception. The staff are a bit hit and miss - some are helpful, others are not. We had a problem with the safe in our room and one of the reception staff made me feel as if I was being a nuisance when I told him about the problem. As other reviewers have mentiond, some of the entertainment is not very good - especially considering they have had all season to perfect it! There is also the usual problem of selfish people leaving towels on sunbeds and then not using them all day. The lifeguards were removing them if someone complained but didn't appear to do it as a matter of course. The hotel was not particularly busy when we stayed but i imagine this would be a real problem in high season. By the time we left, there were lots of German & Russian guests, giving it an "international" atmosphere. Considering we booked last minute and paid very little for the accomodation, I think we certainly got our monies worth and I would say that it's worth giving these hotels a go if you're looking to go to Puerto and don't mind a good walk (or short taxi ride) into the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace

Address: C/ Acevinos, 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.