We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean Family Run Hotel, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Candido

Don Candido
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Don Candido to your Saves list
Don Candido
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Portugal, 10, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Super Clean Family Run Hotel, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I paid 20 euro/night for a lovely room with balcony. All I could see out of the glass doors of the balcony were gorgeous bouganvilleas (there are two end rooms that I believe have this nice outlook on the 2nd floor). The check in was efficient and the family who runs the hotel are extremely nice. The wifi in the lobby area worked great and there were couches and tables to sit in the lobby.

I think one of the owners helps in cleaning the rooms, so they were super spic and span to the extent that I even felt comfortable to have a bath in the tub. Nice clean, white towels and sheets also.

I ended up leaving an item in the room and came back 5 nights later and they had kept it aside.

The drawbacks of this hotel are the location. It's a really nice location in that it is quiet and a nice area, but it is a bit of a walk to the beach and where most of the restaurants and cafes are. The second drawback was just that sometimes while cleaning the rooms the staff were a bit noisy with their chatting and this sometimes disturbed me if I was sleeping late. Lastly, the mattress on my bed was really soft and covered in plastic, so it wasn't the best bed I have slept in, but for 20 euros, cannot complain.

Other than that, this is exceptional value, really great hospitality, awfully clean.

Room Tip: The two double end rooms on the 2nd floor with balcony are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed there for a few days and it felt very cosy with characteric wooden furniture, stairs, chrystal chandelier in de entrance hall etc.
It could have been the house of your old and rich aunty in the eighties. Good vibes. We had a room at the back, which was very nice with a view at the green and flowery wall in the garden. (but blocked the daylight a bit)

The only thing that needs improvement is to have more light in the room. The lamps are just not enough. And the bathroom needs to be refurbished. The room was clean and quiet.

I just read that it has new owners since last year. They are really, really charming and sweet.
A great stay with a personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have already written what I think of this little hotel, about 3 weeks ago, and now, to my horror I read that many people say the opposite ....... I want you to know that the owner now is a very friendly family so the hotel is not what some say. The new owners took over in November last year, 2012. try it, you will be happy there - NO SMELLING BEDS, NICE BREAKFAST, AND THE OWNERS ARE VERY, VERY HELPFUL!! // Kerstin, from Sweden

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

i was there about 10 days
very close to the bus stop and restaurants
this is a nice family hotel running by father and daugther and they are very helpfull and explain if you need some help and they try everything so you feel at home
the room was nice and there is a small pool, ping pong table and you can sit and plan your daytrip

Room Tip: i did not choose but i saw two people who change the room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

this is about the worst hotel I ever stayed in, I moved out after a short few days to check into another acceptalble hotel...despite having paid in advance .. the rooms are smelly old and stinking of desinfectant ... the lady owning the place is very unpolite and nosy .....breakfast is bad... well its just not even worse the 1 star that is has on the door...the beds are smelly very very old..danger of catching an invectious desease.. not joking... STAY AWAY of this .. rather recommending any youth hostal...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We choose this hotel because it was quite cheap and we were not disappointed at all. It has only 22 rooms and it's very quiet, though neighbours are not sometimes. Mainly elderly people are staying in this hotel but that's not a problem at all.
The only minus is that you can only have brekfast (not much of a choice: fresh bread, marmelade, coffe, cocoa, tea, juice, milk, cornflakes - or something else if you bring it with you, otherwise you have to stick with those) and there is no dinner (the onwner gives you a coupon for another hotel and you have dinner there (it was in casa del sol and it was not so bad)). And it's good if you speak german or spanish, cause the owner doesn't speak other languages pretty well (but I think she understands, though she always responds in german or spanish).
The hotel also has a swimming pool which is empty most of the time (water is a bit cold). In front of the hotel is a lot of space where you can park if you hire a car. There is also a place for children to play (a few swings and a lot of sand to make sand castles).
Rooms are big enough with own bathrooms. They are cleaned every day (also the towels are changed) and it's really tidy. We were lucky to have a room with a kitchen and a balcony (not all rooms have it). So we had an excellent view on Teide. In the room there is also TV and a safe, but you have to pay a bit extra for those.
Everybody has allowance to go to the rooftop. There are a few chairs so you can enjoy the view.
I really recommend it. I know for myself that if I ever go to Teneriffe again I'll be in this hotel for sure.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Breakfast and dinner
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Candido

Address: C/ Portugal, 10, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Candido 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Don Candido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Candido Hotel
Don Candido Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Candido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.